![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
If a runner is obstructed going to third and he slaps the ball out of F5's hand ala Arod, based on your rationale, you would not call the interference since he never would have slapped the ball out of his hands if he didn't get obstructed... hopefully you wouldn't call this |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Havaing the advantage of the video:
1. Point to F3, "That's obstruction"...ball stays in play 7.06(b) 2. Point to B/R "That's interference"...Ball stays in play 7.09(i) 3. When play ends: "That's obstruction...you second base." 4. "That's interference, the runner is out." 5. Eject as many as necessary.
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Here's a little tidbit from JEA:
“Physically assisting” implies that the coach did something by touching the runner which improved that runner's chance of accomplishing his goal as a runner. In other words, touching alone does not constitute physically assisting. The umpire must be convinced that the runner is trying to get back to a base or is trying to advance with a sense of urgency.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Quote:
(i)In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base. Quote:
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() But the enforcement of 7.09i is to call the runner out at the time of interference (if you have it and with no play being made on the "assisted" runner) yes the ball remains in play.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Quote:
(See how easy that was, Mark?)
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Thu Sep 13, 2007 at 12:10pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Absent a "ruling" from a recognized authority we'll just have to A2D.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Viewing the video again, I can see that the runner did try to advance to second (he went further than I originally thought he did). But (you knew that was coming) can he actually be assisted to a base he was going to be awarded?
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Quote:
PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead. What does no play being made on the "assisted" runner have to do with whether the ball remains in play or not? It's either dead or it isn't.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
Quote:
First in this particular play, IMO we need to take a look at the ENTIRE play and not "piece meal the rules" Example: We all know that a runner is required to touch all bases in order. However, suppose R1 is obstructed while trying to touch second base on route to third base. In other words the reason he missed touching the base was due to the OBS. Playing action ends and the defense wants to appeal that R1 missed second base. Our ruling - appeal denied because in our judgement the reason R1 didn't touch the base was because F4 / F6 prevented him from doing so. In the aforementioned we do not "piece meal" the rules but look at the entire play. Therefore, in this OP IMO we need to do the same thing. Why! If OBS was called in the first place, then most likely the Coach would not have assited the runner. Therefore, after playing action ends and the umpires huddle. If in fact they decide that OBS should have been called, then the coaches interference should be ignored because R1 is awarded 2nd base hence no advantage gained as a result of the coaches assist. Off topic a bit but now I think we can all see the benefit of having a replay to look at. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball reamains in play, though the runner is called out. From JEA: "If no play is being made on the assisted runner, the umpire shall signal that the runner is out and allow the ball to remain alive. This enforcement principle permits the defensive team to make plays on other runners if possible."
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
GB |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Coach's Interference? | Armadillo_Blue | Baseball | 13 | Tue Aug 08, 2006 01:41am |
coach's interference | NavyCoach | Baseball | 8 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 01:35pm |
Interference v. Obstruction | Dougie | Softball | 14 | Tue Apr 16, 2002 08:54pm |
Obstruction and Interference | spots101 | Baseball | 6 | Sun Mar 03, 2002 02:32pm |
Interference, Obstruction or nothing. | Gre144 | Baseball | 10 | Thu May 17, 2001 07:27pm |