The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 12, 2002, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7
Question

I was BU for a high school game.Situation> runners on 2nd and 3rd two out. Ground ball hit to the left of SS as she moves (slightly) to the ball...the runner from second makes contact (slightly).Ball went into center field, (2)runs score. I felt it was "incidental contact"...defensive coach thought differently...he expressed...(with proper decorum) that he thought it was interference. He asked if I would check with PU to see if he had a "better look." I did..PU said he thought it was definitely interference. Since I was not 100% sure..I changed the call..runner from second OUT no runs score. Offensive team had "mild" objection..but no big deal.

My questions: 1)Were proper mechanics used? 2) If I had stuck with my call and explained that I felt that the fielder (in the act of) moved into the baserunner thus causing the (incidental) contact...I probably would have sold it...is a play like this pure, absolute judgement? Or is there a definitive methodolgy used in making this call?

Any reply would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Dougie
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1