![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() It's not actually a case of "superseding," since you can enforce both. I would use the concept of "superseding" only where it was not possible to enforce both penalties, so one had to choose which to enforce.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Under the obstruction rule don't you "nullify" the act of obstruction. Without the obstruction there would have been no interference. Send'em to second.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
While I agree that this was a nasty situation, all I can say is:
Come on guy's, it's OBR! You take it step by step.
Regards
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
i've been deer in headlights on this one cuz there was NO OBSTRUCTION called on the play, which is why Jacobs was called out on the play after the discussion. after reading the posts i made a call last night and talked about this with a AAA guy. what we came up with is pretty much what was posted somewhere above, so i will edit my playing god statement to correct it, and say that this would be one of the times you could play god.
if, in the discussion after the play, we had decided that there WAS obstruction on this play, then Jacobs would have been awarded 2B and the coach's assist would have been disregarded as the OBS would have taken precedence. the discussion on the phone last night pretty much culminated in the fact that because the ball went to the backstop and Jacobs was going hard with intent to go to 2B, he would be sent there as the fix to the OBS, and the coach's assist wouldn't have mattered cuz he should have already been at 2B. thanks for keeping me in check. http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/f..._Stream001.flv edited to add the link in again cuz it's a new page... Last edited by bobbybanaduck; Wed Sep 12, 2007 at 11:56am. |
|
||||
Quote:
If he is responsible for running the bases correctly (and he is), why does the obstruction in the original play excuse the coach's interference at first base? |
|
|||
that's what my original thinking was before talking it out last night. his point was that the runner stopped running due to being obstructed and went back to 1B. if e hadn't been obstructed, he would have kept going and there would never have been an opportunity for the int. therefore, at the conclusion of the play, he would have awarded the runner such to make it so that the obstruction was rectified, sending him to 2B. i'm going to send him the video and see what he has to say about it. it may take awhile, but i'll post when he gets back to me.
|
|
|||
Quote:
But I still agree with JM, who said above that, even though protected, the runner still must run the bases legally. Although without the OBS the coach would not have had the opportunity to interfere, the fact is that he DID interfere during a live ball. If the runner had committed interference after the OBS, he still would have been liable to be called out. I'll be interested to hear what the AAA guy says.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I'm wondering if anybody would have a different ruling on this play depending on the system of rules.
In other words, would your ruling be any different under OBR, FED, or NCAA? Or, would your ruling apply to all three? By the way, a great video. Very instructive. David Emerling Memphis, TN |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Coach's Interference? | Armadillo_Blue | Baseball | 13 | Tue Aug 08, 2006 01:41am |
coach's interference | NavyCoach | Baseball | 8 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 01:35pm |
Interference v. Obstruction | Dougie | Softball | 14 | Tue Apr 16, 2002 08:54pm |
Obstruction and Interference | spots101 | Baseball | 6 | Sun Mar 03, 2002 02:32pm |
Interference, Obstruction or nothing. | Gre144 | Baseball | 10 | Thu May 17, 2001 07:27pm |