The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymoose_22
No... the runner MUST touch home. The question is when his protection ends when forced on a walk. Since he is not advancing toward the next base (because there isn't one) it seems he should still be protected. Should he not touch home and enter the dugout, then the defense can put him out on appeal. As I am seeing it, protection ends when you progress toward the next base, and in this case he would still be protected after passing home since there is not another base.

Here is the exact wording from my 2007 little league rule book... a note to rule 7.04:
"When a runner is entitled to a base without liability to be put out, while the ball is in play, or under any rule which the ball is in play after the runner reaches an entitled base, and the runner fails to touch the base to which that runner is entitled BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO ADVANCE TO THE NEXT BASE, the runner shall forfeit the exemption from liability to be put out and may be put out by tagging the base or by tagging the runner before that runner returns to the missed base."

MY whole point is... if there was no attempt to advance to the next base (because there isn't one), he can't be put out. The defense in this case would have to wait a moment and then appeal once the player is in the dugout.

The difference with a BR advancing to first on a walk is that he CAN advance toward the next base and lose that protection.

Read the casebook (The Richt Call) comment for 7.04.

Read 7.08(k)

Learn how the rules work.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Read the casebook (The Richt Call) comment for 7.04.

Read 7.08(k)

Learn how the rules work.

7.08 would not apply since the runner advances home without liability to be put out.

The whole matter hinges on the question of whether protection ends after passing home or not... and since there is no base to advance to beyond home, it would seem that the runner is allowed to return and tag without liability as well.

Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split. There does not seem to be a rule that clearly addresses the issue and is open to the interpretation of the umpire.

I have Hunter Wendelstadt's email... thinking I might give him a try :P
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 09:51pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymoose_22
7.08 would not apply since the runner advances home without liability to be put out.

The whole matter hinges on the question of whether protection ends after passing home or not... and since there is no base to advance to beyond home, it would seem that the runner is allowed to return and tag without liability as well.

Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split. There does not seem to be a rule that clearly addresses the issue and is open to the interpretation of the umpire.

I have Hunter Wendelstadt's email... thinking I might give him a try :P
7.08k certainly does apply here. Just because a runner is entitled to advance without liability to be put out, he must still touch the base to which he is awarded.

If he makes no attempt to return to touch home, the catcher can just stand on the plate with the ball and appeal to the umpire, and that runner is OUT!

If he does attempt to return (he must do so before reaching DBT), then he must be tagged.

7.05 Casebook comments:

"The fact a runner is awarded a bases or bases without liability to be put out does not relieve him of the responsibility to touch the base he is awarded and any intervening bases."

I don't think this forum is split on this issue at all. It seems that everyone who has responded to your question has the runner out. You are the only holdout for safe. I find it hard to believe that there is any split on the other forums concerning this issue either. You can't seriously allow a runner to miss a base on the basis of a loophole in the wording of a rule.

Are you really just Joe West in disguise?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 11:11pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
You are comparing apples to oranges. I would say this would be more of a case of abandonment than a missed base. So you're saying if a runner walked around to the left hand batters box to pick up a bat before he touched home, they have missed the plate. If the catcher just happened to have the ball he could tag the runner and be out. If the runner ran five feet from home, picked up the bat and ran towards the dugout, he hasn't missed the base. He has abandoned. You're saying he can't correct himself before he goes into the dugout and touch the plate without being tagged. So where is the loophole you're talking about?
Just posting this shows your lack of understanding about basic rules. My post was entirely correct. I was not speaking about apples or oranges or any other fruit. The runner passed the plate without touching it. That is not abandonment, it's a missed base. Pull your head out.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymoose_22
7.08 would not apply since the runner advances home without liability to be put out.

The whole matter hinges on the question of whether protection ends after passing home or not... and since there is no base to advance to beyond home, it would seem that the runner is allowed to return and tag without liability as well.

Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split. There does not seem to be a rule that clearly addresses the issue and is open to the interpretation of the umpire.

I have Hunter Wendelstadt's email... thinking I might give him a try :P
Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split.

Their URLs please.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 01:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymoose_22
Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split.
I need a good laugh...where are these boards?
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
I need a good laugh...where are these boards?
It's the one(s) Hunter Wendlestedt frequents, as well
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 04:04pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
it's an appeal play..he's supposed to touch home, the ball is live, he doesn't touch home...they appeal in FED, he's out...unless he can go touch home plate without being tagged or an appeal at home plate.
what if offense calls and is granted time defore the defense has the option to appeal...what happens here? FED and OBR?? sorry guys, no rule books here at the office today...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
FED allows dead-ball appeals.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 04:16pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I understand the dead ball rule LMan...thank you...so basically this wouldn't change anything...when "Time" is asked for and granted...the player could still walk up and touch the plate and the defense could still appeal. I get it...but it seems like a heck of a lot of stuff going on while "time" is called...do you see what I'm asking or am I being unclear? Fortunately this has a slim chance of happening, but I want to get it right if/when it ever comes up...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
I'm continually amazed at how we can continue to debate something thats really pretty cut and dried. 7.08 does definitely apply, please confirm with Hunter.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bases Loaded... mrm21711 Baseball 5 Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm
Bases loaded appeal results Leecedar Softball 6 Sun Dec 05, 2004 06:41pm
Base on Balls Bases Loaded For the kids Softball 18 Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:44am
Missing base after bases loaded home run Hearls3 Baseball 1 Tue Dec 23, 2003 05:56pm
bases loaded dropped third strike zebraman55 Softball 2 Fri Jun 08, 2001 12:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1