View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 09:51pm
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymoose_22
7.08 would not apply since the runner advances home without liability to be put out.

The whole matter hinges on the question of whether protection ends after passing home or not... and since there is no base to advance to beyond home, it would seem that the runner is allowed to return and tag without liability as well.

Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split. There does not seem to be a rule that clearly addresses the issue and is open to the interpretation of the umpire.

I have Hunter Wendelstadt's email... thinking I might give him a try :P
7.08k certainly does apply here. Just because a runner is entitled to advance without liability to be put out, he must still touch the base to which he is awarded.

If he makes no attempt to return to touch home, the catcher can just stand on the plate with the ball and appeal to the umpire, and that runner is OUT!

If he does attempt to return (he must do so before reaching DBT), then he must be tagged.

7.05 Casebook comments:

"The fact a runner is awarded a bases or bases without liability to be put out does not relieve him of the responsibility to touch the base he is awarded and any intervening bases."

I don't think this forum is split on this issue at all. It seems that everyone who has responded to your question has the runner out. You are the only holdout for safe. I find it hard to believe that there is any split on the other forums concerning this issue either. You can't seriously allow a runner to miss a base on the basis of a loophole in the wording of a rule.

Are you really just Joe West in disguise?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote