View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 11:39pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymoose_22
7.08 would not apply since the runner advances home without liability to be put out.

The whole matter hinges on the question of whether protection ends after passing home or not... and since there is no base to advance to beyond home, it would seem that the runner is allowed to return and tag without liability as well.

Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split. There does not seem to be a rule that clearly addresses the issue and is open to the interpretation of the umpire.

I have Hunter Wendelstadt's email... thinking I might give him a try :P
Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split.

Their URLs please.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote