View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2007, 08:22pm
mightymoose_22 mightymoose_22 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Read the casebook (The Richt Call) comment for 7.04.

Read 7.08(k)

Learn how the rules work.

7.08 would not apply since the runner advances home without liability to be put out.

The whole matter hinges on the question of whether protection ends after passing home or not... and since there is no base to advance to beyond home, it would seem that the runner is allowed to return and tag without liability as well.

Between this and a couple other forums I have posted the question in, it seems people are fairly evenly split. There does not seem to be a rule that clearly addresses the issue and is open to the interpretation of the umpire.

I have Hunter Wendelstadt's email... thinking I might give him a try :P
Reply With Quote