The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2007, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 88
What a Mess!

Worked an earlier game last night and stuck around for the second game. Here is what I saw:

FED rules. R1 and R2 with two one out. Deep fly ball over F8's head. F8 chases down the ball and makes a diving catch. U2 is standing right in front of second base (didn't go out on the play). After the catch is made, U2 makes absolutely no signal. Now we have a runner on every base as both runners moved up and the batter is standing on first. While everybody was confused, the centerfielder got the ball in and the shortstop tagged second base. While the umpires were talking it over, the defense realized that R2 had tagged up and R1 had not. The shortstop then took the ball (while dead) and tagged first. The umpires came out and said that U1 had seen the obvious catch and that the runner on first was out for not tagging up. What was done right? What was done wrong?

More on the umpires comments later.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When you just mess up... NewNCref Basketball 17 Mon Feb 19, 2007 02:11pm
get me out of this mess boiseball Basketball 36 Tue Jan 16, 2007 05:15pm
How about this mess? Indy_Ref Basketball 8 Thu Jun 15, 2006 01:36pm
Did I mess up? Forest Ump Baseball 17 Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:42am
What a mess... ElPanadero Baseball 14 Fri Mar 24, 2006 04:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1