![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Thanks for the replies - we have two umpire associations in this area and the other one apparently teaches its umpires that a throw has to be to a BASE, not to a fielder. Never made any sense to me, either.
|
|
|||
|
This is not a balk. I had a coach complain about this last week (stupidly, as F6 was literally 2-3 feet from 2B, and so close enough even if there were a requirement that F1 throw "to a base").
One thing you can say is: "you're thinking of the rule about 1B: the pitcher must throw to the base, and it's a balk if F3 is off the base AND can't make a play." I tried this, and the coach told me I was wrong. Another way to explain: if it is not a balk to feint to 2B, why would it be a balk to throw to a fielder away from the bag? Once again, the balk rule emerges as the most widely misunderstood rule in baseball.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| HELP WITH A RULING | jason181988 | Baseball | 12 | Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm |
| ruling? | refTN | Basketball | 3 | Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:58pm |
| A Ruling, Please? | JJ | Baseball | 10 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 01:27pm |
| Need help on a ruling | kimo | Softball | 34 | Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:45pm |
| need a ruling | coach22 | Baseball | 16 | Sun May 25, 2003 04:23pm |