The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan
if the wild pitch happened on ball three and the runner from third scored then the run would of counted? is this correct?
Trick question, right? That's NOT correct. The run would HAVE counted.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Trick question, right? That's NOT correct. The run would HAVE counted.
what are you talking about? thats what i said.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 169
The run should count, UNLESS it is as a result of an action by the improper batter. For instance, if the improper batter singled, the run wouldn't count since that single by the improper batter caused the run to score.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
It doesn't have to be an action by the batter. This had to be ball four before it became a passed ball, so any advance or run would be nullified.

6.07(b)When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the first pitch to the next batter of either team, or before any play or attempted play, the umpire shall (1) declare the proper batter out; and (2) nullify any advance or score made because of a ball batted by the improper batter or because of the improper batter’s advance to first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise.

NOTE: If a runner advances, while the improper batter is at bat, on a stolen base, illegal pitch, balk, wild pitch or passed ball, such advance is legal.



Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Tim:

Does item (2) here refer to advances or scores due to runner's being FORCED to advance due to actions by the improper batter?

Bob P.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
I don't think so, Bob. It comes down to a matter of judgment. You would have to ask yourself whether or not the advance of R3 was on the passed ball or the base on balls award. I would be hard pressed to assume either and return R3 regardless. The logic being that the base award preceeded the passed ball.


Here's what the J/R says.

J/R

Any runner who advanced because of the improper batters batted ball or award must return to his TOP base. A runner who advanced for some other reason (wild pick-off throw, overthrow, wild pitch, balk) is allowed his advance.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Tim,

Thanks for the J/R reference. I would lean toward NOT allowing the run.

Bob P.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I don't think so, Bob. It comes down to a matter of judgment. You would have to ask yourself whether or not the advance of R3 was on the passed ball or the base on balls award. I would be hard pressed to assume either and return R3 regardless. The logic being that the base award preceeded the passed ball.


Here's what the J/R says.

J/R

Any runner who advanced because of the improper batters batted ball or award must return to his TOP base. A runner who advanced for some other reason (wild pick-off throw, overthrow, wild pitch, balk) is allowed his advance.


Tim.
So, did R3 advance *BECAUSE* of the walk or *FOR SOME OTHER REASON* (that, coincidentally was *during* / also resulted in the walk)?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
This would be for a bases loaded situation, hence the words force to advance.

In the words of Tee, why do ya'll make it so hard.
First, there is no mention of 'forced to advance' in either the rule itself or the authoritative resources.

Second, I guess we like to make it so 'hard' because we, unlike you, don't like to guess at what a rule means. In this thread you see some pretty darn smart men having an intelligent discussion on this topic. If you feel this applies only to a force play, please provide an approved ruling or caseplay to support your position. The MLBUM further demonstrates that no run can score here.

MLBUM

In addition to the preceding approved rulings regarding appeal plays, the examples and plays found in the Casebook Comments to Official Baseball Rule 4.09 also pertain to appeal plays. In particular, plays found in that section of the Official Baseball Rules demonstrate the following three concepts:

(1) No run shall score during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner before he touches first base.

(2) No run shall score during a play in which the third out is a force out.

(3) Following runners are not affected by an act of a preceding runner unless two are out.



Then again, you might be thinking of this MLBUM ruling.

MLBUM


5.14 RUNNER FORCED HOME ALLOWED TO SCORE AFTER THIRD OUT
A runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril. If such a runner, forced to advance, is put out for the third out before a preceding runner, also forced to advance, touches home plate, the run shall score. (See Casebook Comments to Official Baseball Rule 7.04(b).



Tim.

Last edited by BigUmp56; Thu May 04, 2006 at 01:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan
what are you talking about? thats what i said.
Read it again. You said the run "would *OF* counted."

mbyron points out that "would *HAVE* counted" is proper.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2006, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greater Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 611
Send a message via Yahoo to umpduck11
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan
what are you talking about? thats what i said.
I don't care who you are, that's funny ! LMFAO !
__________________
All generalizations are bad. - R.H. Grenier
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
count run or not dokeeffe Baseball 13 Wed Jan 11, 2006 05:50pm
10 Second Count JLC Basketball 1 Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:54am
10 second count Jay R Basketball 4 Wed Mar 03, 2004 07:47pm
Count it or not ? GA ref Basketball 20 Tue Mar 02, 2004 02:12am
"L" 5 sec. count Bart Tyson Basketball 27 Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1