The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 05, 2006, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
OK, now that my evil attempt to sow discord, discontent, and division has been successful (don't underestimate the Power of the Dark Side), here is THE official ruling on this play:

No run.

Pursuant to OBR 4.09(a)(1) and NCAA 5-6-c(1).

Many thanks to my friend Rick Roder for confirming this before I stated it here. Now that I've got half my own association swearing revenge on me for this one, I think it's time to wrap up this specific one.

I KNEW there was a reason I rubbed the nose of my life-size Darth Vader everytime I left in the morning.
So, what's the ruling when the BOO is NOT the third out? Does R3 socre, or is R3 returned? (or, is that what was covered on page 12?)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 05, 2006, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 141
Send a message via Yahoo to jxt127
If the BOO is not the 3rd out you must determine if the run would have scored had the Batter not become a batter-runner.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 05, 2006, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
So, what's the ruling when the BOO is NOT the third out? Does R3 socre, or is R3 returned? (or, is that what was covered on page 12?)
Bob J.,

Let's see....

If you were to have a wild pitch ball four with less than 2 outs and the (unforced) R3 attempts to advance and is put out at the plate and the defense successfully appeals a BOOT what would happen?

Let's see, the proper batter would be called out, the R3 would be returned to 3B (and his out nullified), the improper batter would be removed from 1B, and the offense would send another batter to the plate.

Reference: J/R, Chapter 9 -- Appeals, I. Batting Out of Order, B. Defense appeals at correct time::

Quote:
Originally Posted by J/R
(3)
Any runner who became out during the continuous action must return to his base; his out is nullified.
So if the offense does something illegal and we are going to disallow any outs obtained by the defense during the continuous action of the play on which the improper batter completed his at bat, I don't see why anyone who understands the rules of baseball would think we would allow the offense to gain an advantage by benefitting from any advances on the play.

Some people seem to think the rule says we only nullify advances that are "directly caused" by "the improper batter's actions". The rule certainly doesn't say that, and it doesn't mean that either.

I would say that the advance is properly nullified and the R3 is returned. Wouldn't you agree?

JM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
count run or not dokeeffe Baseball 13 Wed Jan 11, 2006 05:50pm
10 Second Count JLC Basketball 1 Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:54am
10 second count Jay R Basketball 4 Wed Mar 03, 2004 07:47pm
Count it or not ? GA ref Basketball 20 Tue Mar 02, 2004 02:12am
"L" 5 sec. count Bart Tyson Basketball 27 Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1