The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 05, 2005, 11:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 32
You are correct that this would be a timing play. If the runner from third scored before the abandonment of R2, then the run would count, absent an appeal from the defense. However, even if R3 scored before R2 abandoned, the defense would still have the opportunity to appeal that R2 did not touch third. And if they did, the run would not score because the appeal against R2 at third base would be a force out and no runs can score when the third out is a force play. However, I would not consider R2 to have abandoned until he had reached the dugout. In addition, without knowing the specifics of this situation, I think that in general by calling R2 out in this situation you are really taking the short end of the stick as an umpire. R2 is an idiot, but the team scored the winning run and absent a clear case of abandonment, I would let the run score and go home.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1