The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2018, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 89
Automatic Strike?

Hoping i made the right call, was end of game so i high-tailed it outta there..

Bottom of last inning of championship game, home team down by 1.

2-2 count on Batter, 2 out, runner on 3rd.

F1 comes to set position, R3 takes off home, F1 steps TOWARDS HOME and delivers the ball, while the ball is en route, the batter bails out of the batters box because of the incoming runner.

I called strike 3 on batter because he was out of batters box on a legal pitch ( my judgement was the pitcher delivered a pitch even tho he CLEARLY was throwing home for a pickoff, but his feet and step position was that of a pitch). Mind you, 9u baseball. :-)

Since the batter was out of batters box, the pitch is automatic strike, regardless of where the pitch ends up, 3 outs, game over. R3 was *not* struck by the ball, as i do believe that can come into play as well.

Correct call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2018, 04:21pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,986
Let me ask a question back to you, have you checked the rules of the league you were working (LL, Pony, etc) to see if there is such a provision?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2018, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Hoping i made the right call,

I called strike 3 on batter because he was out of batters box on a legal pitch ( my judgement was the pitcher delivered a pitch even tho he CLEARLY was throwing home for a pickoff, but his feet and step position was that of a pitch). Mind you, 9u baseball. :-)

Since the batter was out of batters box, the pitch is automatic strike, regardless of where the pitch ends up,

Correct call?
Nope. It's not an automatic strike. It is only a strike if it hits the batter's strike zone.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2018, 06:44am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Good grief. Batters are forced out of the box all the time by errant inside pitches. Ever seen one of those called an automatic strike?

BTW, good job on not calling a balk, even though I'll bet everybody on the offense was screaming for one. As described, you had a legal delivery.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2018, 07:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Hoping i made the right call, was end of game so i high-tailed it outta there..

Bottom of last inning of championship game, home team down by 1.

2-2 count on Batter, 2 out, runner on 3rd.

F1 comes to set position, R3 takes off home, F1 steps TOWARDS HOME and delivers the ball, while the ball is en route, the batter bails out of the batters box because of the incoming runner.

I called strike 3 on batter because he was out of batters box on a legal pitch ( my judgement was the pitcher delivered a pitch even tho he CLEARLY was throwing home for a pickoff, but his feet and step position was that of a pitch). Mind you, 9u baseball. :-)

Since the batter was out of batters box, the pitch is automatic strike, regardless of where the pitch ends up, 3 outs, game over. R3 was *not* struck by the ball, as i do believe that can come into play as well.

Correct call?
It would be an automatic strike if he left the batter's box AND delayed the game. And 9U? Oy, not sure I'd call that a strike on the first offense even if it did delay the game. But in this case, it wasn't at all for the purpose of delaying the game. Quite the opposite, he was doing the defense a favor. I'm afraid you pulled a ruling out of a hat.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2018, 08:17am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,730
One should only try to apply stuff like this if they know the rules well enough to know that the situation involved violates the letter and spirit of the rule.

Didn't happen here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2018, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 89
Thanks for the replies. I believe after searching the rulebook i had misread (or didnt attach it to the actual reasoning) of the below...

NFHS
7-3.5B "stepping out of the batter's box".
Penalty: WIth two outs, the batter is out.



However that only applies to interfering with catchers throw or fielding, so I just screwed that up by thinking since the batter left the box without asking for time, and the pitcher delivered a legal pitch, that the batter gets the above penalty.

Guess i'll keep reading more and more, thanks again guys.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2018, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Thanks for the replies. I believe after searching the rulebook i had misread (or didnt attach it to the actual reasoning) of the below...

NFHS
7-3.5B "stepping out of the batter's box".
Penalty: WIth two outs, the batter is out.



However that only applies to interfering with catchers throw or fielding, so I just screwed that up by thinking since the batter left the box without asking for time, and the pitcher delivered a legal pitch, that the batter gets the above penalty.

Guess i'll keep reading more and more, thanks again guys.
Indeed, the relevant section is 7-3-1, and that's about delaying the game. You have gained experience, in much the same way as we all have.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic T? Coach Bill Basketball 45 Wed Dec 03, 2008 03:06am
Automatic Strike/Penalty Strike NFHS Blue37 Baseball 19 Tue Feb 27, 2007 02:29pm
"Automatic" T? BayStateRef Basketball 14 Wed Jan 18, 2006 07:22pm
Automatic First Down? leegrad95 Football 10 Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:02pm
Automatic first down cjb75 Football 3 Fri Aug 26, 2005 07:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1