The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 19, 2017, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 89
Delayed DeadBall, batter Inf

Couple questions i am throwing into one thread...High SChool baseball rules

Aa) Delayed dead ball situation. Is there a signal an ump should make to inform coaches/players/etc that a delayed dead ball is in effect?

Ab) R1 on first running towards 2nd on a line drive to left field, the 2B hinders his run and he has to slow down and alter his pace, so obstruction on 2B, but there is no play. End of play, R1 safely at 3rd. Since the obstruction happened on the first base side of 2nd, is this a no call? or does the obstruction get tacked on at the end of the play and R1 is awarded one base (home)?

Ba) Count 1-1, runner on first. Batter swings and hits catchers mitt on the followthru. This is batter interference, but the runner was not stealing (no play to interfere with), so this is a no-call, correct?

Bb) Count 1-1, no runner. Batter swings and hits catchers mitt during his swing (NOT the followthru) and this is catchers interference. is that automatic interference call and batter takes first base?

Really looking for catcher INt vs batter INT, and if there is no play out in the field to be had, then no batter interference to be called, but catchers int is automatic dead ball, batter gets awarded first base and any other runners return to base Time of Pitch, unless of course there is a runner on first who will be sent to 2nd since the batter is taking first base.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 19, 2017, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
In Fed Baseball, the DDB signal was eliminated (I believe in 2012), but its (the DDB Rule) usage and application remains the same.
Signal remains in Fed Softball.

Last edited by rbmartin; Wed Apr 19, 2017 at 10:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 19, 2017, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Couple questions i am throwing into one thread...High SChool baseball rules

Aa) Delayed dead ball situation. Is there a signal an ump should make to inform coaches/players/etc that a delayed dead ball is in effect?

Ab) R1 on first running towards 2nd on a line drive to left field, the 2B hinders his run and he has to slow down and alter his pace, so obstruction on 2B, but there is no play. End of play, R1 safely at 3rd. Since the obstruction happened on the first base side of 2nd, is this a no call? or does the obstruction get tacked on at the end of the play and R1 is awarded one base (home)?

Ba) Count 1-1, runner on first. Batter swings and hits catchers mitt on the followthru. This is batter interference, but the runner was not stealing (no play to interfere with), so this is a no-call, correct?

Bb) Count 1-1, no runner. Batter swings and hits catchers mitt during his swing (NOT the followthru) and this is catchers interference. is that automatic interference call and batter takes first base?

Really looking for catcher INt vs batter INT, and if there is no play out in the field to be had, then no batter interference to be called, but catchers int is automatic dead ball, batter gets awarded first base and any other runners return to base Time of Pitch, unless of course there is a runner on first who will be sent to 2nd since the batter is taking first base.
Aa) There is no standard delayed dead ball sign since every infraction that results in a DD situation has it's own mechanic.
Signal obstruction or interference by pointing at the guilty party and verbalized the proper call of either "That's Obstruction" or "That's Interference!"

Ab) Signal obstruction and wait until all play has ceased. Now you award him any base that will nullify the obstruction, which in this situation I would leave him at 3B.
I would only award him home if I felt that is where he would have safely advanced if the obs had not occurred.
In HS obstruction is always a minimum of a one base award.

Ba) In HS backswing interference is an out and the ball is dead.
In OBR. the ball is dead with no penalty. If it is the 3rd strike batter is out. Any runners who advanced are sent back to the base they occupied at time of pitch.
In regular batters interference the infraction is ignored if catcher throws the runner out.
If not then ball is dead, batter out and runners return.
If it is strike 3 you also call out the runner if you think the catcher had a good chance of putting him out. ( HS only)
In OBR both the batter and runner are called out no matter what.

B.b) HS calls this catchers obstruction and it is a delayed dead ball.
If the batter and all runners advance one base it is ignored.
Otherwise the batter advances to 1B and forced runners advance one base.
However, the offensive coach has the choice of taking the obstruction award or the results of the play.

Last edited by MT 73; Wed Apr 19, 2017 at 11:57am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 19, 2017, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Send a message via Yahoo to rcaverly
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Ba) Count 1-1, runner on first. Batter swings and hits catchers mitt on the followthru. This is batter interference, but the runner was not stealing (no play to interfere with), so this is a no-call, correct?
NFHS 2-21-4 . . . Follow-through interference is when the bat hits the catcher after the batter has swung at a pitch and hinders action at home plate or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner. [Emphasis mine.]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 19, 2017, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcaverly View Post
NFHS 2-21-4 . . . Follow-through interference is when the bat hits the catcher after the batter has swung at a pitch and hinders action at home plate or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner. [Emphasis mine.]
Just did some research and I see that in 2015 they change the wording that there is backswing and follow thru interference.
Backswing is interference without a play ( dead ball and strike 3 if it is the 3rd strike) and follow through is backswing interference when the catcher is making a play.
Good grief--why can't everyone just use OBR?
So yes, in Ba just call time and get the ball back to the pitcher--just like in OBR.
Seriously thanks for the heads up .

Last edited by MT 73; Wed Apr 19, 2017 at 07:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2017, 04:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Send a message via Yahoo to rcaverly
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
Backswing is interference without a play ( dead ball and strike 3 if it is the 3rd strike) and follow through is backswing interference when the catcher is making a play.
NFHS backswing interference is when B's bat contacts F2 or his equipment (usually the glove) while B and F2 are preparing for the next pitch. Either or both may be guilty of initiating the contact. Nobody is advancing and nobody is attempting to make an out. But, both may be momentarily distracted. Mechanic: Shut it down, reset and start over. It's done the same in games played using OBR.

2015 NFHS Interps SITUATION 8: As the pitcher looks into the catcher for a sign, the batter is moving his bat back and forth across the plate. The batter accidentally contacts the catcher with his bat during this movement. RULING: This is backswing interference. The ball is immediately dead and all players are provided time to regain their positions. (2-21-5, 5-1-1n, 7-3-7 Penalty)


Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
Good grief--why can't everyone just use OBR?
There's no money to be made in that philosophy. And, the rules committee (coaches) agreed that more minutia would help them look superior to the officials on the field. It almost never works out that way.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2017, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Agreed.
So what is the ruling when there is backswing follow through with a runner on base who is not advancing?
Situation-- batter swings and his backswing interferes with F2's return throw to the pitcher?

Last edited by MT 73; Thu Apr 20, 2017 at 07:13am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2017, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
Agreed.
So what is the ruling when there is backswing follow through with a runner on base who is not advancing?
Situation-- batter swings and his backswing interferes with F2's return throw to the pitcher?
Nothing.

Follow through interference is only interference when F2 has a play to make and is hindered. So if no runner is stealing just ignore it (perhaps a friendly reminder to the batter to control his bat)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2017, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
Nothing.

Follow through interference is only interference when F2 has a play to make and is hindered. So if no runner is stealing just ignore it (perhaps a friendly reminder to the batter to control his bat)
Gotcha.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2017, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
Nothing.

Follow through interference is only interference when F2 has a play to make and is hindered. So if no runner is stealing just ignore it (perhaps a friendly reminder to the batter to control his bat)
I agree.

Although the cases and interps that I can find either have no runners (where it's obviously nothing) or a stealing runner (where it's obviously something).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deadball USC Suudy Football 8 Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:33am
Delayed Delayed violation? OHBBREF Basketball 16 Fri Nov 14, 2008 08:06pm
Deadball dh898 Football 4 Fri Sep 16, 2005 01:17pm
Deadball on Kickoff trainman52 Football 7 Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:43am
12 men on the field - deadball? 7Rock Football 14 Wed Oct 23, 2002 02:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1