The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 56
Do we have an English/grammer teacher in the house.

Quote:
The general understanding of whether an appeal out may also be a force out comes from OBR 7.12, which says in part:
"If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third out, no runners following the runner called out shall score. If such a third out is the result of a force play, neither preceding nor following runners shall score."

That says that appeal outs can also be force outs if the conditions that gave rise to the appeal occurred when a force play was in effect.
Does OBR 7.12 really say that?

"If, upon appeal, ..." speaks to appeal plays being a third out. "If such a third out is the result of a force play..." speaks to third outs NOT appeal plays.

As I carfully read 7.12, it seem to me that it does not give permission to call and appeal play a force out even though a preceeding player has been put out first.

__________________
Marty
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1