Thanks for the explanation of the underlying reasoning, Warren. I had never studied the exact wordings carefully to find the justifications, but instead relied on the BRD, which covers these situations in section 238 and, with an odd situation, section 241.
In fact, 85-238 gives an example of how, in NCAA, two following runners could be put out without cancelling the force on a preceding runner.
It seems to me that NCAA's rule, which differs from those of OBR and Fed, leaves open a very strange possibility:
Score tied, bottom of the ninth. Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, one out. Charles hits a grounder to F3, who steps on 1B to retire Charles. F3 throws home too late to get Abel, who scores with the apparent winning run. But Baker misses 2B and then starts to celebrate. The defense successfully appeals Baker's miss of 2B. Because the force was on at 2B at the time of the pitch, Baker's out is a force out cancelling the winning run.
A strict reading of the rules would indicate that if Baker simply stopped between 1B and 2B, there could be no appeal at 2B (since he didn't actually miss the bag). But since he proceeded to 2B and missed it, he would be at risk of being called out on appeal. Of course, I may be missing some reason that this particular play can't happen.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|