The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2013, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Correctable Error Case Play

A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws. However, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation. The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2. The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court.

RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free throw with players in lane line spaces and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a)

I dont understand how this is not a change of possession....A is in control when the error is made and B is in control when the game is stopped??? Can someone explain this.

I thought the way this error was handled was clear the lane let A shoot there second free throw give B the ball at the POI and proceed....How is Situation H Which I copied here not administered the same way Situation A is......these to plays seem to contradict themselves to me......is there a mistake in the casebook......

In 2.10.1 Situation H
A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is awarded a one-and-one. The error is discoveredc) after B1 has rebounded the miss on the second free throw; (d) after B1 has the ball for a throw-in after both attempts are successful; (e) after B2 has control of the throw-in from B1 after A1’s two successful throws; or (f) after B1 has rebounded the miss on the second free throw and is fouled by A2.

RULING: In (c), (d) and (e), the successful free throw(s) are canceled and play continues with a throw-in by Team B since B had the ball when the game was interrupted for correction. In (f), the successful free throw is canceled, charge A2’s foul and continue play with either a free throw (bonus) for B1 or throw-in for Team B.

Last edited by phife23; Wed Nov 27, 2013 at 11:59am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error appeal/Stop play during a live ball? BayStateRef Basketball 16 Tue Dec 18, 2012 04:28pm
Marquette-St. John's Correctable Error Play Marcusmav Basketball 7 Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:31am
New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment CallMeMrRef Basketball 7 Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
Another Correctable Error Play Blackhawk357 Basketball 4 Tue Feb 18, 2003 08:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1