The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2014, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 138
Illegal player...libero

USAV:

Ref asks coach of team A to have player change libero jersey because it is marginally contrasting.. Team has only one libero. Coach agrees.

Team wins Set one 25 - 14.

Set two score is 22 - 12....someone notices libero number is not the same as on the line-up and score sheet.

The alternate jersey has a different number than the original that the coach wrote on the lineup.

Forfeit set one 0 - 25, set two is now 0 - 12....set two lost 24 - 26.

Team A is now not in the gold bracket...good news is they blow everyone away in the silver.

Is this the intent of the 'illegal player on the court' rule? This does not seem to be in the spirit of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 20, 2014, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 100
Is it the intent of the rule? No, it's not. Though a big POE this year was for extra care when it came to line up submission, both on the officiating corps as well as the coach. Ultimately, though, the responsibility relies on the coach.

What'd they do about the libero situation when the set resumed 0-12? If the coach was smart, he would've redesignated.

Last edited by Antonio.King; Sun Apr 20, 2014 at 11:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 21, 2014, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
Redesignated Libero

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonio.King View Post

What'd they do about the libero situation when the set resumed 0-12? If the coach was smart, he would've redesignated.
Wouldn't this be illegal? With an illegal player listed as the libero on the line-up is the same as having no-one listed. You can't re-designate midway through a set for a player that doesn't exist.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 21, 2014, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 100
What makes this situation any different from a phantom substitution? A libero can be redesignated for any reason at any time during the match.
Nothing about the player on the lineup as libero is illegal.

So by rule, redesignating liberos is permissible.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 22, 2014, 07:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsetter View Post
USAV:

Ref asks coach of team A to have player change libero jersey because it is marginally contrasting.. Team has only one libero. Coach agrees.

Team wins Set one 25 - 14.

Set two score is 22 - 12....someone notices libero number is not the same as on the line-up and score sheet.

The alternate jersey has a different number than the original that the coach wrote on the lineup.

Forfeit set one 0 - 25, set two is now 0 - 12....set two lost 24 - 26.

Team A is now not in the gold bracket...good news is they blow everyone away in the silver.

Is this the intent of the 'illegal player on the court' rule? This does not seem to be in the spirit of the game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonio.King View Post
Is it the intent of the rule? No, it's not. Though a big POE this year was for extra care when it came to line up submission, both on the officiating corps as well as the coach. Ultimately, though, the responsibility relies on the coach.

What'd they do about the libero situation when the set resumed 0-12? If the coach was smart, he would've redesignated.


This is covered in the latest rules interpretation.
https://www.volleyballreftraining.co...s_Interp_1.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 22, 2014, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 100
Yup. So if he were smart, he could've redesignated. Curious to know what he did after the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 22, 2014, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 138
the coach re-designated the libero with the correct number.

So in essence this match was lost due to a typo - like we did not know who the libero was because the number was not matching. What I really don't like about this rule is the potential for a scorekeeper or libero tracker to make a typo or miss a sub and cause a huge problem.

So, not that it was not important, but now the most important part of the match is to check the lineup and make sure the libero numbers are correct because this can have an enormous impact on the match, way more than any call you make......
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 23, 2014, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
Note, I dont work USAV, so I'm not familiar with the rule particulars, but in the Interp referenced it has:

NOTE: Attention must be paid to the difference between a player whose name is not listed on the roster
and a player who is listed on the roster but with the wrong number. This case specifically deals with a
player whose name is not listed on the roster, and is the only time the referees may go back to previous
sets to remove points. In addition, tournament eligibility rules, such as region guidelines or the USAV
Qualifier Manual, may supersede the roster (eligibility) rules.


So with this qualifier, was it correct to cancel the points in Set 1?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 23, 2014, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
Note, I dont work USAV, so I'm not familiar with the rule particulars, but in the Interp referenced it has:

NOTE: Attention must be paid to the difference between a player whose name is not listed on the roster
and a player who is listed on the roster but with the wrong number. This case specifically deals with a
player whose name is not listed on the roster, and is the only time the referees may go back to previous
sets to remove points. In addition, tournament eligibility rules, such as region guidelines or the USAV
Qualifier Manual, may supersede the roster (eligibility) rules.


So with this qualifier, was it correct to cancel the points in Set 1?
I remember talking about this in Atlanta a couple of weeks ago. Technically, by rule, we would be allowed to go back into the previous set if it was impacted. However, that's not something that's being encouraged to do as an "industry standard" because of how dicey it can get.


Quote:
Oldsetter So, not that it was not important, but now the most important part of the match is to check the lineup and make sure the libero numbers are correct because this can have an enormous impact on the match, way more than any call you make......
.

Agreed. My first encounter with this rule this year was in Omaha where the coach wrote #13 in position 6 instead of #3 (didn't have a 13). 13 was the middle and was going in and out for the Libero. At 16-16 in the first set, the libero tracker finally spoke up about it. 16-16 turned to 17-0.

Coach was not pleased (as he shouldn't be, despite it being his error first) more so because it was an error that could've been caught early on instead of at 16-16. The coach R2 didn't catch it, and neither did the table until 16-16.

When I went down to see what the problem was, I asked the AS how she just now noticed it. She said she thought it was wrong from the beginning but didn't say anything. She finally said that something was wrong after telling the SK, who also had the same incorrect number down.

*facepalm*
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 21, 2014, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsetter View Post
USAV:

Ref asks coach of team A to have player change libero jersey because it is marginally contrasting.. Team has only one libero. Coach agrees.

Team wins Set one 25 - 14.

Set two score is 22 - 12....someone notices libero number is not the same as on the line-up and score sheet.

The alternate jersey has a different number than the original that the coach wrote on the lineup.

Forfeit set one 0 - 25, set two is now 0 - 12....set two lost 24 - 26.

Team A is now not in the gold bracket...good news is they blow everyone away in the silver.

Is this the intent of the 'illegal player on the court' rule? This does not seem to be in the spirit of the game.
when did the ref ask for the libero to change jerseys? If it is after the lineup was submitted, then this falls on the officials as well as the coaches. If it was prior to the lineup submission, it falls squarely on the team, and as a result their mistake caused the problem, not the officials actions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal offensive player and illegal defensive player... SNIPERBBB Softball 9 Fri Mar 09, 2012 04:55pm
Illegal Libero Replacement blueump Volleyball 4 Wed Oct 05, 2011 03:38pm
illegal player daveg144 Basketball 14 Sun Jan 18, 2009 01:33pm
Illegal Player - NSA Fastpitch Rules (related to other illegal player post) kfrisbee Softball 1 Wed Sep 17, 2008 12:54pm
Illegal Libero Replacement BigToe Volleyball 12 Tue Sep 04, 2007 05:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1