The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Oct 01, 2007, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member

Exclamation New ref flying solo-help!

My first thread was inadvertantly deleted so I'll try again for some assistance.
This is my first year refereeing, I've worked four matches, one as up ref.
Tomorrow I'm scheduled to do a JV or MS (can't tell from the schedule which) match solo, with no follow on game so no one else will be coming or watching.
Anyone have any tips for how I should handle subs and talk to the scorekeepers? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Old Mon Oct 01, 2007, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member

If there is a referee's stand, try to get it placed on the same side of the court as the score table and benches.

You are going to have to do everything, so it is more convienent to be on the same side of the court.
Old Mon Oct 01, 2007, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member

Well that's good to know, didn't even know I could do that, thanks!
Old Mon Oct 01, 2007, 08:41pm
In Memoriam

C'mon Folks....

I wrote to bpowlen to apologize for inadvertently deleting her post.
[I had answered with one-whistle basketball mechanics, and then proceeded to screw up some more.]

Please give her some solo mechanics help.
You folks could write a book !
Thanks.
mick
Old Tue Oct 02, 2007, 12:13am
Official Forum Member