The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2007, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 81
What's the Penalty?

NFHS Rules.

Team is using a Libero and the Libero has already served once during the game.

The Libero is in left back and the team is awarded a point/loss of rally.
The legally replaced player comes in for the Libero and the right front leaves the game with the Libero going back to serve.

However, the Libero did not serve in this position in the line up previously.

Should it be a violation at this point since the Libero is not allowed
to serve in this position, thus making it an improper replacement,
or does the violation not occur until the Libero/server contacts the ball for serve as the wrong server.

Is the penalty Improper Replacement (unnecessary delay) or wrong server (point/loss of rally)?

Thanks in advance for your response.
__________________
Don't be afraid to try new things.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2007, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
It's not an illegal replacement since the libero can legally replace any back row player. Nothing illegal occurs until the libero contacts the ball for serve. Correct procedure to to wait for contact of serve, then whistle & signal illegal server & award point/lor to opponent.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2007, 11:09am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Sorry, Toolman!

varefump, refer to the rules interpretations put out by NFHS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHS Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 15: The Team S libero has served in the current game in position No. 3 in the serve order (in replacement of starting player No. 5). Later in the same game, the libero is on the court in replacement of starting player No. 10. The team wins a rally and rotates to serve. Starting player No. 7 is the next legal server. Player No. 7 leaves the court, player No. 10 returns to the court, and the libero goes to the service area and prepares to serve. The officials are aware that the libero cannot serve in this second position. The officials (a) whistle/signal delay of game and indicate illegal libero replacement; (b) whistle/signal illegal alignment; (c) whistle/signal for serve followed by a whistle signal for illegal alignment/improper server. RULING: (b) Incorrect procedure; (a) and (c) correct procedures. COMMENT: The libero replacement is illegal since the libero can only avoid sitting out a rally between replacements IF the libero is the next LEGAL server. (10-4-5a) If the officials intervene prior to the beckon for serve, they can assess the delay of game penalty for illegal libero replacement as the libero did not sit out a rally between replacements. Player No. 7 would be the legal server and the libero can either remain in the game for player No. 10 on the back row, or go to the bench. If the officials do not intervene until the libero illegally contacts the serve, they would need to assess the illegal alignment/improper server penalty. Once the loss of rally/point is awarded, the libero can remain on the court in replacement of No. 7 as a rally has occurred. (10-4-5a)
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2007, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 81
Thanks Jan.

I should have looked at the NFHS interpretations first. This was a situation that occurred in a match last night.
__________________
Don't be afraid to try new things.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 07, 2007, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Jan,

I didn't see that one, should have looked further. I was looking at the situation at the top of page 6 of the case book. I know it refers to the replacement for an injured libero that has already served, but it specifically states that the replacement of the back row player is legal & nothing illegal occurs until there is contact for serve. If as the book says any serving constraints of the original libero are passed on to the replacement, wouldn't it follow that in this situation the replacement would be illegal as you described? Seems there is a discrepancy here......

Last edited by TimTaylor; Fri Sep 07, 2007 at 04:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2007, 08:52pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Tim, the thing about this situation is that the replacement is NOT legal. Since the libero has already served in another position during the game, she cannot legally go from LB to serve in an incorrect position. By rule, since she cannot serve in this position, she MUST sit out one rally before she can legally reenter the game. Therefore, in this instance, we do not wait for contact because the replacement itself is illegal, not the fact that she is an incorrect server. Hope that I explained it clearly.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)

Last edited by MCBear; Tue Sep 11, 2007 at 06:15am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
penalty sm_bbcoach Football 4 Fri Oct 27, 2006 04:16am
what is the penalty for clippy Football 2 Sun Aug 27, 2006 08:16pm
What's the penalty for..... WooPigSooie Baseball 23 Mon May 15, 2006 09:46am
PIT Penalty jack015 Football 10 Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:41pm
Penalty on Try lds7199 Football 13 Tue Nov 01, 2005 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1