The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264

A 2/9 at A-41. Normal pro set for A, TE is off theline on the left side. At the snap, TE moves down field. The LB on that side, had moved to abut 3 yards off the LOS before the snap) shoves him out of the way and the TD falls down (about 2 steps off the LOS). THE QB throwing a quick pass towards where the TE should be, pass falls incomplete. A's coach calling for DPI. Thoughts??
If you don't see it, don't call it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
Can't have DPI before the ball is in the air. Could have illegal use of the hands if the TE is no longer a potential blocker.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Correct. DPI is only while the ball is in the air. Illegal use of hands and holding can happen any time. However in this situation it sounds to me like the LB hit the TE as they were passing each other and so it doesn't sound to me like there was any foul. 2 steps from the LOS hasn't allowed the TE to establish himself as not a blocker.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2006, 03:23am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Is there something in the rulebook about a reciever 'Establishing as a (non-)blocker'?
I don't remember anything, but have heard from people that NFL has some sort of 5 yard rule for bumping a reciever.
As far as I understand a CB can bump a receiver whenever, as long as the ball is not in the air and the block is legal (no PF, not in the back etc).

I see all the time that the CB is 7-10 yards back and the receiver runs downfield. Could be for a pass route, could be to block the CB. As long as the ball is not thrown I don't see a problem with a bump - but I'm usually an U so maybe I'm not well versed enough on the topic.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2006, 04:16am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
NCAA rules allow B to block (or legally contact) an A eligible receiver until A is at a position relative to B where he would no longer be considered a threat to block. In practice, until A is on the same yardline or beyond B, and the ball is not in the air, B can block A. Also, there is no "five yard" limit on where B can block.

Provided that the block described here did not qualify as some form of "contact foul", the block by B is not a foul under NCAA rules.
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is the penalty for clippy Football 2 Sun Aug 27, 2006 08:16pm
PIT Penalty jack015 Football 10 Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:41pm
Penalty on Try lds7199 Football 13 Tue Nov 01, 2005 08:53am
penalty on try michaelpr Football 6 Wed Aug 03, 2005 08:16am
What is the penalty? DJ Basketball 21 Thu Feb 05, 2004 05:04pm

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1