The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Aug 22, 2006, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member

Question Miscellaneous Questions

I just had my first match of the season last week (freshman match) and I was working with a new partner. I found out after the match that this was his second year doing volleyball and first time working a match above middle school level. It was also his first match of the year. This is just my third year so obviously I'm still learning as well, which is why I have several questions about our match.

During the match (I was U and partner was R), my partner either delayed or completely ate his whistle at the conclusion of many rallies. His signals were also delayed, and I found myself (even though I waited longer than I wanted) on a few occasions giving a touch signal just prior to my partner coming up with an out signal (even though he had a touch also he was simply signalling out). Also, he didn't call any ball handling violations even though one of the teams could have received a handful since their skills were not close to the opposing team.

So here are my questions:
  1. What do you do when you're U and your partner forgets to blow the whistle?
  2. How long do you wait for your partner to give a signal?
  3. What if he's giving a signal that might cause confusion as to the outcome of the rally? Do you still mirror?
  4. What can you do if your partner isn't making the call on blatant ball handling violations?