The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 36
I'm sure these questions have come up but in viewing the subject I was unable to locate them. I certainly appreciate anyone providing the correct calls to these two situations.

1) Can an offensive player catch his own shot? A1 shoot from left side of basket. Ball does not touch anyone from the defensive team, offensive team, backboard, net, or rim - just air... A1 catches ball on other side of rim. Is this traveling or a rebound?

2) A1 brings ball down court. B1 swipes ball from A1 and ball heads towards out of bounds. B1 hustles after ball and keeps it inbounds by tapping it downcourt towards his offensive end. B1's momentum carries him out of bounds (both feet completely OB). B1 continues to hustle and gets back in bounds and then retrieves the ball before anyone else touches the ball. Question is can play continue with B1 now in control of the ball?

Both plays subject to NBA rules.

Thank you all for your reply’s.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 378
Just to reply because I can (I'm not an NBA rules guru), but I believe your answers are "No" and "Yes" according to NBA rules.

Just for the fun of it, I also believe the NFHS answers are "Yes" and "Yes."
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Dan got 'em right.

#1 is illegal. It's a traveling violation in the NBA. If you'd asked about high school or college the answer would be that it is legal. And you would owe Tony five dollars.

#2 is legal. It's specifically covered in play 225 (on page 46) in the NBA Questions and Answers. That's the NBA's version of a case book. And again, in HS or NCAA, it's legal.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7
Please clarify in the second sitch.

Does the player have to get both feet back in bounds before he can touch the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,021
Quote:
Originally posted by tigerb
Please clarify in the second sitch.

Does the player have to get both feet back in bounds before he can touch the ball.
No. The player only needs to touch inbounds with any part of their body (foot, hand, butt, knee, etc.) and not be touching out-of-bounds.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Sep 27th, 2002 at 01:48 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 53
Here is one for you - NFHS and NCAA.

Can A1 who is dribbling the ball, lose control of the ball, lose control of themselves and their momentum takes them out of bounds, come back inbounds and continue the dribble?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally posted by secondyear
Here is one for you - NFHS and NCAA.

Can A1 who is dribbling the ball, lose control of the ball, lose control of themselves and their momentum takes them out of bounds, come back inbounds and continue the dribble?
Quick! Someone find a link to the old post that went about 500 pages that addressed this question!
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,021
Quote:
Originally posted by secondyear
Here is one for you - NFHS and NCAA.

Can A1 who is dribbling the ball, lose control of the ball, lose control of themselves and their momentum takes them out of bounds, come back inbounds and continue the dribble?
Absolutely. If they lose control of the ball, it is an interrupted dribble. The only way for A1 to violate is to touch the ball or be touched by the ball while OOB.

The real catch is whether they lost control making it an interrupted dribble or are really still dribbling and chose to let it bounce an extra time or two between touches...that is a judegement call.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Sep 27th, 2002 at 05:48 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2002, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by secondyear
Here is one for you - NFHS and NCAA.

Can A1 who is dribbling the ball, lose control of the ball, lose control of themselves and their momentum takes them out of bounds, come back inbounds and continue the dribble?
Absolutely. If they lose control of the ball, it is an interrupted dribble. The only way for A1 to violate is to touch the ball or be touched by the ball while OOB.

The real catch is whether they lost control making it an interrupted dribble or are really still dribbling and chose to let it bounce an extra time or two between touches...that is a judegement call.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Sep 27th, 2002 at 05:48 PM]
Camron, you get the trophy. The way you worded your post masterfully cuts out all the arguement we've had about this in the past. Great job!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 28, 2002, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
They've added a case play this year on the specific play.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 28, 2002, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 53
Thanks for the info. I just received my new NFHS books yesterday!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 02, 2002, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally posted by secondyear
Here is one for you - NFHS and NCAA.

Can A1 who is dribbling the ball, lose control of the ball, lose control of themselves...
If A1 can truly become more than one person during an interrupted dribble, who am I to tell him what he can't do?

(Tongue firmly in cheek. I know: "don't talk about no grammar....")
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1