Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by bob jenkins  I know this has been covered before, and there was a case play on it that was removed in 2019-202 (or so), but:
 1) Team A asks for a lineup check.  The R2 puts the team in the wrong order.  Team A serves for three points and the error is discovered.  Ruling: Remove the three points. put Team A in the correct order, Team A serves again (with the correct server).
 
 2) Same as play 1, but the error is not discovered until B wins a rally and serves for a point.  Ruling:  Put Team A in the correct order, but it's too late to change any score.
 
 3) Same as Play 1, but the error is discovered after B wins a rally but before B serves.  Ruling: ?
 
 4) Team R asks for a lineup check and R2 puts them in the wrong order.  Team S serves and wins the rally.  Ruling: ?
 
 5) Same as play 4, but Team R wins the rally.  Ruling: ?
 | 
	
 I'm handling Play 3 the same way as Play 1.  We gave incorrect information and they immediately committed a fault because of it.  Since it's before the next beckon for serve, I'm going to fix it.
In Play 4, if you didn't call the out-of-rotation immediately on the serve, I'm not sure how this even gets recognized.  If you call it immediately, then it's easy: fix them and replay.  But if the play goes to its natural conclusion, who's pointing out that they were placed in the wrong positions?  In the unlikely event that Coach R says, "Hey, you put us in the wrong rotation and we lost the point because of it", I would have to say that you fix it and replay the point.  
Same answer for Play 5, I think.