View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Today, 11:24am
Scrapper1 Scrapper1 is offline
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I know this has been covered before, and there was a case play on it that was removed in 2019-202 (or so), but:

1) Team A asks for a lineup check. The R2 puts the team in the wrong order. Team A serves for three points and the error is discovered. Ruling: Remove the three points. put Team A in the correct order, Team A serves again (with the correct server).

2) Same as play 1, but the error is not discovered until B wins a rally and serves for a point. Ruling: Put Team A in the correct order, but it's too late to change any score.

3) Same as Play 1, but the error is discovered after B wins a rally but before B serves. Ruling: ?

4) Team R asks for a lineup check and R2 puts them in the wrong order. Team S serves and wins the rally. Ruling: ?

5) Same as play 4, but Team R wins the rally. Ruling: ?
I'm handling Play 3 the same way as Play 1. We gave incorrect information and they immediately committed a fault because of it. Since it's before the next beckon for serve, I'm going to fix it.

In Play 4, if you didn't call the out-of-rotation immediately on the serve, I'm not sure how this even gets recognized. If you call it immediately, then it's easy: fix them and replay. But if the play goes to its natural conclusion, who's pointing out that they were placed in the wrong positions? In the unlikely event that Coach R says, "Hey, you put us in the wrong rotation and we lost the point because of it", I would have to say that you fix it and replay the point.

Same answer for Play 5, I think.
Reply With Quote