The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   R2 Puts Team in Wrong Order (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/106455-r2-puts-team-wrong-order.html)

bob jenkins Mon Aug 18, 2025 07:06pm

R2 Puts Team in Wrong Order
 
I know this has been covered before, and there was a case play on it that was removed in 2019-202 (or so), but:

1) Team A asks for a lineup check. The R2 puts the team in the wrong order. Team A serves for three points and the error is discovered. Ruling: Remove the three points. put Team A in the correct order, Team A serves again (with the correct server).

2) Same as play 1, but the error is not discovered until B wins a rally and serves for a point. Ruling: Put Team A in the correct order, but it's too late to change any score.

3) Same as Play 1, but the error is discovered after B wins a rally but before B serves. Ruling: ?

4) Team R asks for a lineup check and R2 puts them in the wrong order. Team S serves and wins the rally. Ruling: ?

5) Same as play 4, but Team R wins the rally. Ruling: ?

bob jenkins Thu Aug 21, 2025 09:16pm

No help for plays 3 - 5?

Thanks

Scrapper1 Fri Aug 22, 2025 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1054072)
I know this has been covered before, and there was a case play on it that was removed in 2019-202 (or so), but:

1) Team A asks for a lineup check. The R2 puts the team in the wrong order. Team A serves for three points and the error is discovered. Ruling: Remove the three points. put Team A in the correct order, Team A serves again (with the correct server).

2) Same as play 1, but the error is not discovered until B wins a rally and serves for a point. Ruling: Put Team A in the correct order, but it's too late to change any score.

3) Same as Play 1, but the error is discovered after B wins a rally but before B serves. Ruling: ?

4) Team R asks for a lineup check and R2 puts them in the wrong order. Team S serves and wins the rally. Ruling: ?

5) Same as play 4, but Team R wins the rally. Ruling: ?

I'm handling Play 3 the same way as Play 1. We gave incorrect information and they immediately committed a fault because of it. Since it's before the next beckon for serve, I'm going to fix it.

In Play 4, if you didn't call the out-of-rotation immediately on the serve, I'm not sure how this even gets recognized. If you call it immediately, then it's easy: fix them and replay. But if the play goes to its natural conclusion, who's pointing out that they were placed in the wrong positions? In the unlikely event that Coach R says, "Hey, you put us in the wrong rotation and we lost the point because of it", I would have to say that you fix it and replay the point.

Same answer for Play 5, I think.

IK13 Fri Aug 22, 2025 07:09pm

I had #3 happened yesterday on a HS FR match. I removed the point won by B, put A in the proper rotation and replayed. B’s coach was (understandably) unhappy about losing that point. Of some consolation was fact that B kids worked the table and gave the wrong information.

IK13 Fri Aug 22, 2025 07:15pm

4&5 should be a replay, not a conditional, based on whether someone complained IMO…even though that might be the less friction option.

bob jenkins Fri Aug 22, 2025 07:41pm

I agree. Was just a lot of discussion in a study group. I think someone can complain that if they were un the right rotation they would have had better hitters / blockers / servers (or the other team would have had worse), etc. All we can do is eat it and get back to the game with everyone in the right spot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1