The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2025, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,202
R2 Puts Team in Wrong Order

I know this has been covered before, and there was a case play on it that was removed in 2019-202 (or so), but:

1) Team A asks for a lineup check. The R2 puts the team in the wrong order. Team A serves for three points and the error is discovered. Ruling: Remove the three points. put Team A in the correct order, Team A serves again (with the correct server).

2) Same as play 1, but the error is not discovered until B wins a rally and serves for a point. Ruling: Put Team A in the correct order, but it's too late to change any score.

3) Same as Play 1, but the error is discovered after B wins a rally but before B serves. Ruling: ?

4) Team R asks for a lineup check and R2 puts them in the wrong order. Team S serves and wins the rally. Ruling: ?

5) Same as play 4, but Team R wins the rally. Ruling: ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,202
No help for plays 3 - 5?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Today, 11:24am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I know this has been covered before, and there was a case play on it that was removed in 2019-202 (or so), but:

1) Team A asks for a lineup check. The R2 puts the team in the wrong order. Team A serves for three points and the error is discovered. Ruling: Remove the three points. put Team A in the correct order, Team A serves again (with the correct server).

2) Same as play 1, but the error is not discovered until B wins a rally and serves for a point. Ruling: Put Team A in the correct order, but it's too late to change any score.

3) Same as Play 1, but the error is discovered after B wins a rally but before B serves. Ruling: ?

4) Team R asks for a lineup check and R2 puts them in the wrong order. Team S serves and wins the rally. Ruling: ?

5) Same as play 4, but Team R wins the rally. Ruling: ?
I'm handling Play 3 the same way as Play 1. We gave incorrect information and they immediately committed a fault because of it. Since it's before the next beckon for serve, I'm going to fix it.

In Play 4, if you didn't call the out-of-rotation immediately on the serve, I'm not sure how this even gets recognized. If you call it immediately, then it's easy: fix them and replay. But if the play goes to its natural conclusion, who's pointing out that they were placed in the wrong positions? In the unlikely event that Coach R says, "Hey, you put us in the wrong rotation and we lost the point because of it", I would have to say that you fix it and replay the point.

Same answer for Play 5, I think.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FTs shot in wrong order - correctable bucky Basketball 16 Fri Feb 21, 2020 12:25am
Team Going Wrong Way kzooref Basketball 9 Sat Jan 25, 2020 09:26am
Missing tailbone pad puts team in the playoffs Backjudge79 Football 50 Sat Nov 01, 2008 01:44am
Block at the end puts team in championship game Mark Padgett General / Off-Topic 0 Sat Apr 05, 2008 11:39am
Batting Out Order or Just Wrong Numbers? streamdoc Softball 8 Thu May 05, 2005 02:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1