The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 29, 2025, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
NCAA Part A test

I am struggling with this question from the NCAA Form A test.

45. The original player returns to the court for the Team R libero when the libero’s position rotates to the front row. Immediately Team R's second libero replaces Team R's next server. The assistant scorer informs the second referee, who corrects the illegal replacement before the next rally begins.

Indicate the referee's decision in each situation using this key
IWP = Individual Warning or Penalty PtR = Team R wins a point & the serve
DQ = Disqualification RP = Replay
IR = Denial, Improper Request L = Legal Play, Request, or Action
DW = Delay Warning
DP = Delay Penalty TO = Timeout
PtS = Team S wins a point & the serve AS = Administrative Sanction

I think the team's actions were legal; I am not sure why the AS and R2 got involved.

For example, see this case play:
SITUATION 14: Team S has designated two liberos on the lineup sheet: No. 12
and No. 14. Libero No. 12 has replaced player No. 4 in position 5 (left back).
Player No. 7 is in position 2 (right front). No libero has served in the set. Team
S wins a rally and rotates. Player No. 4 replaces libero No. 12 in position 4, and
libero No. 14 replaces player No. 7 in position 1 and prepares to serve. Both
replacements occur in the libero replacement zone. RULING: Proper procedure.
Rule 12.2.1.2.5 allows a libero replacement for the player who is serving next,
even if the libero does not sit out for a rally, and a team with two designated
liberos may exchange liberos freely any time the ball is out of play. (See Rule
12.2.1.2.1.)

I must be mis-reading this. I tried answer L and it was marked wrong.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Jul 29, 2025 at 03:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 29, 2025, 05:40pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
I also think the replacements are legal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2025, 06:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Thanks. Maybe I'll send this back with my explanation and no correction.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2025, 07:10am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
What could be illegal about it? The libero on the court isn't the libero who goes to serve? That just seems like a legal libero exchange to me. (12.2.1.2.1 A libero is allowed to exchange with the other libero whenever the
ball is out of play.)

The second libero goes directly to the service area instead of entering through the sideline? The first libero already served for the regular player that just returned to the court? But the question doesn't say either of those things.

I just don't see what the question is getting at.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2025, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 765
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
This would appear to be legal. Not sure what the issue would be. Though team R is now Team S, in theory.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2025, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,273
Did they just forget to update the question?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 31, 2025, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: California
Posts: 24
Send it to Brian Hemelgarn - [email protected] and/or [email protected].
Sometimes I get a response, more often not, but at least I’d like to think that I’m doing my part to make it right. Last year one of the bugs I submitted ended up corrected for the actual exam (or perhaps was wrong only in RefSchool).

Last edited by IK13; Thu Jul 31, 2025 at 03:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 01, 2025, 06:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Got this in my email this morning:

Quote:
Hello -

You are receiving this because an issue was detected with question #45 of the 2025 NCAA/PAVO Form A Volleyball Exam. A detail was omitted from the exam question that led to some ambiguity. As a result, the answer of "Legal (L)" should have been acceptable. We have since corrected the verbiage of that question.

Because you provided that answer on your exam, your results have been revised to give you credit for this question.
If someone has not yet opened the test, I would be interested in what the revision to the question was.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Fri Aug 01, 2025 at 09:25am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
part 2 test MdSooner Basketball 0 Sun Dec 12, 2004 11:32am
Part II Test dknick78 Basketball 4 Tue Nov 23, 2004 01:43am
Part I test goldcoastump Football 12 Sun Aug 15, 2004 07:04pm
Part 1 Test lawref Basketball 11 Wed Nov 05, 2003 10:57pm
Part II test jcoopv Football 2 Fri Oct 04, 2002 04:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1