The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   NCAA Part A test (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/106443-ncaa-part-test.html)

bob jenkins Tue Jul 29, 2025 10:38am

NCAA Part A test
 
I am struggling with this question from the NCAA Form A test.

45. The original player returns to the court for the Team R libero when the libero’s position rotates to the front row. Immediately Team R's second libero replaces Team R's next server. The assistant scorer informs the second referee, who corrects the illegal replacement before the next rally begins.

Indicate the referee's decision in each situation using this key
IWP = Individual Warning or Penalty PtR = Team R wins a point & the serve
DQ = Disqualification RP = Replay
IR = Denial, Improper Request L = Legal Play, Request, or Action
DW = Delay Warning
DP = Delay Penalty TO = Timeout
PtS = Team S wins a point & the serve AS = Administrative Sanction

I think the team's actions were legal; I am not sure why the AS and R2 got involved.

For example, see this case play:
SITUATION 14: Team S has designated two liberos on the lineup sheet: No. 12
and No. 14. Libero No. 12 has replaced player No. 4 in position 5 (left back).
Player No. 7 is in position 2 (right front). No libero has served in the set. Team
S wins a rally and rotates. Player No. 4 replaces libero No. 12 in position 4, and
libero No. 14 replaces player No. 7 in position 1 and prepares to serve. Both
replacements occur in the libero replacement zone. RULING: Proper procedure.
Rule 12.2.1.2.5 allows a libero replacement for the player who is serving next,
even if the libero does not sit out for a rally, and a team with two designated
liberos may exchange liberos freely any time the ball is out of play. (See Rule
12.2.1.2.1.)

I must be mis-reading this. I tried answer L and it was marked wrong.

Scrapper1 Tue Jul 29, 2025 05:40pm

I also think the replacements are legal.

bob jenkins Wed Jul 30, 2025 06:24am

Thanks. Maybe I'll send this back with my explanation and no correction.

Scrapper1 Wed Jul 30, 2025 07:10am

What could be illegal about it? The libero on the court isn't the libero who goes to serve? That just seems like a legal libero exchange to me. (12.2.1.2.1 A libero is allowed to exchange with the other libero whenever the
ball is out of play.)

The second libero goes directly to the service area instead of entering through the sideline? The first libero already served for the regular player that just returned to the court? But the question doesn't say either of those things.

I just don't see what the question is getting at.

FMadera Wed Jul 30, 2025 09:27am

This would appear to be legal. Not sure what the issue would be. Though team R is now Team S, in theory. :D

SNIPERBBB Wed Jul 30, 2025 03:21pm

Did they just forget to update the question?

IK13 Thu Jul 31, 2025 10:03am

Send it to Brian Hemelgarn - [email protected] and/or [email protected].
Sometimes I get a response, more often not, but at least I’d like to think that I’m doing my part to make it right. Last year one of the bugs I submitted ended up corrected for the actual exam (or perhaps was wrong only in RefSchool).

bob jenkins Fri Aug 01, 2025 06:08am

Got this in my email this morning:

Quote:

Hello -

You are receiving this because an issue was detected with question #45 of the 2025 NCAA/PAVO Form A Volleyball Exam. A detail was omitted from the exam question that led to some ambiguity. As a result, the answer of "Legal (L)" should have been acceptable. We have since corrected the verbiage of that question.

Because you provided that answer on your exam, your results have been revised to give you credit for this question.
If someone has not yet opened the test, I would be interested in what the revision to the question was.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1