NCAA Part A test
I am struggling with this question from the NCAA Form A test.
45. The original player returns to the court for the Team R libero when the libero’s position rotates to the front row. Immediately Team R's second libero replaces Team R's next server. The assistant scorer informs the second referee, who corrects the illegal replacement before the next rally begins.
Indicate the referee's decision in each situation using this key
IWP = Individual Warning or Penalty PtR = Team R wins a point & the serve
DQ = Disqualification RP = Replay
IR = Denial, Improper Request L = Legal Play, Request, or Action
DW = Delay Warning
DP = Delay Penalty TO = Timeout
PtS = Team S wins a point & the serve AS = Administrative Sanction
I think the team's actions were legal; I am not sure why the AS and R2 got involved.
For example, see this case play:
SITUATION 14: Team S has designated two liberos on the lineup sheet: No. 12
and No. 14. Libero No. 12 has replaced player No. 4 in position 5 (left back).
Player No. 7 is in position 2 (right front). No libero has served in the set. Team
S wins a rally and rotates. Player No. 4 replaces libero No. 12 in position 4, and
libero No. 14 replaces player No. 7 in position 1 and prepares to serve. Both
replacements occur in the libero replacement zone. RULING: Proper procedure.
Rule 12.2.1.2.5 allows a libero replacement for the player who is serving next,
even if the libero does not sit out for a rally, and a team with two designated
liberos may exchange liberos freely any time the ball is out of play. (See Rule
12.2.1.2.1.)
I must be mis-reading this. I tried answer L and it was marked wrong.
Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Jul 29, 2025 at 03:13pm.
|