The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 20, 2018, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,774
Illegal Replacement

Libero is LB as team gets a side out. Libero is supposed to serve, but leaves the court. The middle (former RF) goes back to serve and R1 beckons. Libero now runs on the court, middle leaves and Libero serves. R1 correctly calls illegal alignment (?) and awards a point to the other team.

Can Libero remain in the game? Does the team need to do a "proper" replacement (middle return,s then middle and Libero exchange behind the attack line)? Does Libero need to stay on the bench for another point? Other?

FED rules if it matters; I'd also be interested in NCAAW (and, I guess, USAV)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 110
The libero may stay in after the illegal alignment penalty.

At the end of Rule 10 under penalties it says..."If identified after whistle/signal for serve, illegal alignment results (loss of rally/point). In all cases, the illegal libero shall enter legally or be replaced by a legal player."

The sentence prior to the quotation marks addresses the penalty for an illegal libero replacement prior to the whistle/signal for serve.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,774
Thanks. That was the reference given by about half the people in the room. The other half said the libero had to leave for a point.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2018, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 41
I agree with PaREF. I believe this is correct for all 3 associations as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 20, 2018, 01:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 22
I don't understand the illegal alignment call.

Quote:
12.2.1.2 Replacements involving the libero are not counted as substitutions and are unlimited. There must be at least one completed rally between two libero replacements, unless the libero is replacing the player in position No. 1 and is the next correct server, the libero is ill or injured (See Rule 12.3.1), or there is a forced rotation caused by a penalty. The libero can only be replaced by the player whom she replaced. An incorrect libero replacement results in a delay sanction if the officials identify and correct the situation before the next service contact. If identified after service contact, a position fault results.
That explicitly states that you CAN have two separate libero replacements if and only if the libero is legally going back to serve. Moreover...

Quote:
12.2.2.1 Replacements can only take place after a completed rally or at the start of each set after the second referee has verified the starting lineup. The replacement must occur while the ball is out of play and before the authorization for service. A replacement made after the authorization for service but before service contact is not rejected, but a verbal warning is issued. Subsequent late replacements in the match result in a delay sanction
So if the concern was that the replacement took place after the beckon, it still is only worth a warning.

(For clarification, that's from the NCAAW rulebook, I'm not very familiar with NFHS)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2018, 06:49pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayla vb View Post
(For clarification, that's from the NCAAW rulebook, I'm not very familiar with NFHS)
Bob works FED, which is different from NCAAW that you and I are familiar with.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2018, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Bob works FED, which is different from NCAAW that you and I are familiar with.
Their rule book isn't available for free. Do FED rules specify that the libero must stay on the court for the double switch when she goes back to serve?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2018, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayla vb View Post
Their rule book isn't available for free. Do FED rules specify that the libero must stay on the court for the double switch when she goes back to serve?
No. But, there can't be any delay, or it's a delay warning.

And, the NCAA statement: "A replacement made after the authorization for service but before service contact is not rejected, but a verbal warning is issued. " is not applicable in FED. In FED, the statement is "Replacements may only take place ... (c) while the ball is out of play and prior to the whistle and signal for serve." The penalty is illegal alignment (loss of rally / point.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hip Replacement nedgram43 Football 2 Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:30am
Illegal Libero Replacement blueump Volleyball 4 Wed Oct 05, 2011 03:38pm
Illegal Libero Replacement BigToe Volleyball 12 Tue Sep 04, 2007 05:28pm
T for no DQ'd replacement RookieDude Basketball 11 Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:05am
30 Second Replacement Mark Dexter Basketball 9 Wed Dec 20, 2000 01:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1