The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2015, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Biggest difference I know of is nfhs all runners are considered to be awarded the next base on the walk, and in asa they are not.
ASA Rule 8 Section 1 - THE BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER

C. When four balls have been called by the umpire. The batter-runner is awarded first base.

That being the case, wouldn't all runners forced to advance as a result of a BB be considered moving to awarded bases?

If the response is "no", please explain the logic.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2015, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
ASA Rule 8 Section 1 - THE BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER

C. When four balls have been called by the umpire. The batter-runner is awarded first base.

That being the case, wouldn't all runners forced to advance as a result of a BB be considered moving to awarded bases?

If the response is "no", please explain the logic.
There is a difference between forced to advance (or more accurately ... allowed to advance without liability to be put out) and AWARDED.

The other codes are odd here, not ASA... Why would the other runners be AWARDED the next base - they are allowed to advance, and should do so...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2015, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
ASA Rule 8 Section 1 - THE BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER

C. When four balls have been called by the umpire. The batter-runner is awarded first base.

That being the case, wouldn't all runners forced to advance as a result of a BB be considered moving to awarded bases?

If the response is "no", please explain the logic.
Ted, here's the case play that makes all the difference.

Bases loaded, two outs, B6 receives a walk. R1 lollygags coming home, while R2 hustles to 3rd, overruns the base, and is tagged out having passed 3rd BEFORE R1 reaches home.

If only the batter is awarded (the rule you cited), and the others are simply forced (ASA), then the run does not score.

If bases to all forced runners are "awarded" (NCAA and NFHS), then the run scores, despite the 3rd out on a timing play preceding the run.

Most of us (I believe, but certainly I) think the ASA ruling is more appropriate, and see no rule (other than an approved/case play ruling) that creates nor supports the NCAA and NFHS position.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 17, 2015, 10:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Ted, here's the case play that makes all the difference.

Bases loaded, two outs, B6 receives a walk. R1 lollygags coming home, while R2 hustles to 3rd, overruns the base, and is tagged out having passed 3rd BEFORE R1 reaches home.

If only the batter is awarded (the rule you cited), and the others are simply forced (ASA), then the run does not score.

If bases to all forced runners are "awarded" (NCAA and NFHS), then the run scores, despite the 3rd out on a timing play preceding the run.

Most of us (I believe, but certainly I) think the ASA ruling is more appropriate, and see no rule (other than an approved/case play ruling) that creates nor supports the NCAA and NFHS position.
I disagree that the ASA ruling is the best ruling here, at least thinking FP.

Situation: Bases loaded, 3-2 count. Runners are going on the pitch. Batter does not swing and it is called ball 4. Catcher for some reason throws to third. Runner slides in, touches 3rd and overslides third base. She is tagged out after coming off the base, before the runner from third touches home. Under ASA rules the run would not score. I personally think that the bases all should be considered awarded bases is so much as the run scoring goes. I have no problem calling the runner out at third on this, but the run should still score in my opinion. I don't think this should be a timing play situation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 18, 2015, 07:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
I disagree that the ASA ruling is the best ruling here, at least thinking FP.

Situation: Bases loaded, 3-2 count. Runners are going on the pitch. Batter does not swing and it is called ball 4. Catcher for some reason throws to third. Runner slides in, touches 3rd and overslides third base. She is tagged out after coming off the base, before the runner from third touches home. Under ASA rules the run would not score. I personally think that the bases all should be considered awarded bases is so much as the run scoring goes. I have no problem calling the runner out at third on this, but the run should still score in my opinion. I don't think this should be a timing play situation.
I disagree. The runners on base are not affected by the base on balls. They may be affected by the batter becoming a BR, but earned nothing other than a free base if forced.

If the offense chooses to or makes the error of placing themselves in jeopardy, that is all on them. The defense should not take a hit for making a good play on a bad base running.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2015, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I disagree. The runners on base are not affected by the base on balls. They may be affected by the batter becoming a BR, but earned nothing other than a free base if forced.

If the offense chooses to or makes the error of placing themselves in jeopardy, that is all on them. The defense should not take a hit for making a good play on a bad base running.
So I gather you approve of the ASA philosophy. By definition then, you disagree w/ the NFHS and NCAA interpretations of this case play?

Which means in your words that the defense WOULD "take a hit" for making a good play on a bad base running action. I.E. the run would count in both NFHS and NCAA.

I don't do NCAA, but I'm going to have to remember which hat I'm wearing if I'm ever confronted with this play in a game.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2015, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
So I gather you approve of the ASA philosophy. By definition then, you disagree w/ the NFHS and NCAA interpretations of this case play?

Which means in your words that the defense WOULD "take a hit" for making a good play on a bad base running action. I.E. the run would count in both NFHS and NCAA.

I don't do NCAA, but I'm going to have to remember which hat I'm wearing if I'm ever confronted with this play in a game.
Not speaking for Mike... but the NFHS and NCAA interpretations have no rules basis whatsoever in their own rule books ... other than the published interpretation. They are illogical, and contradict every other case where an out is made prior to a run scoring.

If they intend to treat this as an award, change the rule to state that all runners are awarded a base. Currently (as in ASA) it merely states forced runners are allowed to advance a base without liability to be put out.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2015, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
So I gather you approve of the ASA philosophy. By definition then, you disagree w/ the NFHS and NCAA interpretations of this case play?
Without a doubt

Quote:

Which means in your words that the defense WOULD "take a hit" for making a good play on a bad base running action. I.E. the run would count in both NFHS and NCAA.
Coach-driven rule sets, what else would you expect?

Quote:

I don't do NCAA, but I'm going to have to remember which hat I'm wearing if I'm ever confronted with this play in a game.
That should be true all the time.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bases loaded walk fdt92 Softball 50 Sun Apr 22, 2018 08:11am
Bases loaded walk... jmkupka Softball 32 Fri May 24, 2013 05:47pm
Bases Loaded Walk... mightymoose_22 Baseball 37 Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:05pm
Bases Loaded... mrm21711 Baseball 5 Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm
bases loaded dropped third strike zebraman55 Softball 2 Fri Jun 08, 2001 12:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1