The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
If this runner was in between first and second base when the throw was made, what is the first base of her two-base award? Second.

If she touched second base after the ball went out of play, has she touched the the first base of her award after the ball became dead? Yes.

At that point the rule says she can't go back and correct her baserunning mistake.
No. And it bothers me when otherwise solid and experienced partners get this wrong. I wonder if this is carryover training from baseball...

The rule doesn't says FIRST awarded base... it says NEXT awarded base. If they were between 1st and 2nd when the ball was released, but between 2nd and 3rd when it went out of play and 3rd base was awarded... THIRD BASE is the next awarded base. If they touch 3rd they can't return. If they do not touch third, they ABSOLUTELY can go back and return to first to retouch properly.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
They, of course, can touch 3B before retreating to complete their responsibilities; we just have to disallow it upon appeal...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2015, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
No. And it bothers me when otherwise solid and experienced partners get this wrong. I wonder if this is carryover training from baseball...

The rule doesn't says FIRST awarded base... it says NEXT awarded base. If they were between 1st and 2nd when the ball was released, but between 2nd and 3rd when it went out of play and 3rd base was awarded... THIRD BASE is the next awarded base. If they touch 3rd they can't return. If they do not touch third, they ABSOLUTELY can go back and return to first to retouch properly.
I somewhat disagree. I think BretMans explanation may have been an oversimplification, but would be true if the umpire immediately awarded the bases upon the ball entering DBT. IMO, the next awarded base is the first base of the award. Nothing is awarded until the umpire says it is. And there needs to be the consideration that just because the umpire calls, yells, bellows "dead ball" doesn't mean everyone hears or instantaneously heeds the call and continues playing through a lot of noise and sometimes confusion.

This was a bullshit rule change for 2003. The reason offered was "To prevent the possibility that once a base runner advances, they may not return to any base they've gone beyond on the award. This would permit the defensive team to make any appeal as soon as the base runner advanced to or past the next base."

When it went into effect, we were clearly instructed (and passed this on to the local umpires) to not be hasty in announcing the awards simply to avoid this type of mess.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in BC? Terrapins Fan Basketball 26 Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:35pm
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1