![]() |
|
|
|||
By rule, "Catcher did this just before or right after pitch was delivered. It was unexpected so I'm not exactly sure of when" matters.
After is no call, before is IP. Of course, there is the exception about moving forward if the batter is forward; and squaring to bunt makes that sound likely.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Right before or right after... another one of those cases where it's part of our job to determine what happened first.
That said ... if they are moving to the spot you described as the pitcher begins pitching, I would be very surprised if she was actually no longer in the catcher's box at the moment the pitch was released. And to call that on her, you'd better be SURE. Smart batter, however, would have tried to bunt the pitch anyway and likely gotten a CO call.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
This is an ASA thread. That rule is that a pitch begins when the pitcher, after bringing her hands together, separates her hands. The same definition applies to NCAA. NFHS starts the pitch even sooner, depending on the pitcher's motion; it adds "or makes any motion that is part of the windup after the hands have been brought together".
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Mon Jun 22, 2015 at 09:48pm. |
|
|||
One would think that if you still saw the pitch after the catcher moved she probably left the box early.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Ok. In rethinking the situation I posted about, and reading the replies, I now remember what happened.
I was in the slot waiting. Pitcher started windup. Catcher sprang up and went to left handed batter's box. I thought, "WTF" because the catcher completely vacated her normal spot and I was totally naked in the slot. I got up out of my squat and moved slightly to the left out of slot still wondering WTF. Ball came in to catcher at that point. I called it a ball because it was out of zone and it simply surprised me. From what I've heard, should have called IP and moved runners up. If it ever happens again, I'll know "WTF". Thanks guys, John
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made! ![]() |
|
|||
How? She can begin moving as soon as the pitch is released... she would have to be all the way out of the catcher's box before the release to be illegal. Seems equally likely that she may or may not have done that.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
The reason I asked what determines whether an action is a pitch is because in baseball there's been discussion of whether the pitcher can throw home to make a play on a runner coming from 3rd without the throw's counting as a pitch, and if so, how the 2 actions are distinguished.
|
|
|||
Quote:
With that said, this is a HTBT situation to actually make a call. |
|
|||
Quote:
When I said, "see the pitch", I meant seeing the whole pitch. That pitch normally gets there pretty quick. OP stated the catcher came up. If you are set, odds are you are going to see the back of the catcher's helmet or shoulder for a split second. IMO, if the catcher is up and gone and the umpire still sees the entire pitch, I would think it is quite possible the catcher left the box early. I didn't say to make the call, just what may have happened.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Back to the OP. Remember that someone is IN until a foot is touching the ground, and every part that is touching is completely OUT. Be sure that's what happened before the release before making what will be a very marginal if even necessary call, despite being accurate. Also that the catcher's box does extend the entire width of both batter's boxes.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
CR for Sub Catcher? | Manny A | Softball | 5 | Fri Apr 04, 2014 09:10am |
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation | habram | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm |
Regarding the Catcher... | cshs81 | Baseball | 2 | Wed Aug 30, 2006 03:59am |
Catcher in catcher's box prior to LBR? | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 13 | Wed May 04, 2005 09:15am |
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation | hardwdref | Basketball | 3 | Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm |