![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Yuk is right ![]()
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm umpire that has played and coached the game for many years, so I beleive I have a good feel for the game. The call had no bearing on the outcome of the game, I probably would not make the call otherwise. The question I have for you guys that don't make assumptions about other umpires, is at what point do you deem the defensive player that is standing in the base path of the runner and not receiving the ball is to have impeded the progress of the runner? My initial thought when I signaled the OBS was the runner had to adjust from her original base path to wider angle. Last edited by roadking; Thu Apr 09, 2015 at 08:04am. |
|
|||
This is a judgement call and it is a HTBT call to really say if it was a correct call or an incorrect call. But what we have to judge is that the runner was impeded by a fielder without possession of the ball (only part that applies in your situation). What I think most of us are saying is from 30 feet away it's hard for us to invision that the runner was impeded.
You mentioned that you thought they altered their path to go wider than they were going to go and that's why you ruled OBS. I ask, did they do that because of the fielders location?? Or did they take a wider path because they saw a play developing and they were attempting to be in a position to avoid a tag? This is the real judgement part that we have to figure out a way to be more consistent on. When they first changed the rule and took about to receive out of the rule there were a lot of umpires who ruled OBS as soon as they rounded 3B and F2 had a foot in front of the plate. This was an incorrect call obviously, there has to be some sign that the runner was impeded before we can rule obstruction. I understand that your association is "harping" to call this and I AGREE 100% umpires need to call it when it happens!! But calling it when they really aren't impeded, is just as bad as not calling it when they are impeded! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Anyone ever called this? | jkumpire | Basketball | 25 | Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:18pm |
Balk called on catcher being out of box | Forest Ump | Baseball | 3 | Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:27am |
What they want called, and what is called (Strike Zone again!) | FUBLUE | Softball | 30 | Tue May 13, 2008 05:14am |
Catcher in catcher's box prior to LBR? | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 13 | Wed May 04, 2005 09:15am |
Should I have called catcher obstruction? | Dakota | Softball | 2 | Wed Jun 12, 2002 07:40pm |