![]() |
|
|
|||
I don't know where this might be written down and it has nothing to do with not being able to retreat (which is only to avoid a tag anyway). I judge player to be obstructed for the amount of time that they are immediately affected by the obstruction. So a player tripped on her way to first who lands before the bag is obstructed between home and 1st. A player tripped on her way to first who lands past the bag is obstructed between home and 1st and between 1st and 2nd.
If you don't judge it that way you have quite the problem because the latter runner would otherwise be in advance of the base they would have reached absent the obstruction and not in the segment they were obstructed in which means they could be put out. I see it the same way for a player rounding a base. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
A runner rounding a base is part of continuing, once they have reached it (i.e. at the base), so the OBS can apply to the next "between". I don't see " the latter runner would otherwise be in advance of the base they would have reached absent the obstruction and not in the segment they were obstructed in which means they could be put out" as a problem.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
(Even if you dealt with it with an ejection at the right time in the game it might be worth it.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Maybe the OP needs clarification. If the OBS was literally at 1st, then yes, on the way to 2nd, as you and Mike said.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Re the OBS at or prior to 1B.
The umpire must make a judgement as to both where the OBS occurred and how far the runner or batter/runner will be protected. If a fielder clearly obstructs the BR prior to 1B the the insofar as the "cannot be put out between the two bases where she was obstructed.." part of the rule is concerned she cannot be putout between HP and 1B. However the umpire may also judge that while the OBS was between HP and 1B the batter/runner would have likely reached 2B sans the OBS and in that case the protection under 8-4-3-b would still apply. But I think it's a stretch to say that OBS which clearly happens between HP and 1B and causes the BR to round 1B wide qualifies as OBS between 1B and 2B. Ponder this: batter hits sharp grounder to F6 which skips off her glove. She chases the ball down behind and on F6 side of 2B as BR scampers to 1B inside the foul line. F3 playing a couple of feet in front of 1B and near the foul line causes BR to alter her path into foul ground. U1 signals OBS. BR touches 1B and awkwardly rounds the bag. 1B off coach sees DDB signal and tells BR (now a Runner) to try for 2B. Runner makes very futile effort and slides into waiting tag of F4. Unless judged at time of OBS that BR would have likely reached 2B I have an out here even if BR rounded wide because the OBS happened between home and 1B. If the OBS is caused by fielder being right at 1B without the ball then I judge that to be occurring between 1B and 2B and protect accordingly. |
|
|||
And in that case, if the coach sends the runner into an out at 2nd, a likely award of 1st would apply.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the cases of obstruction while rounding as mentioned earlier, yes, I would have awarded 1B to the runner if tagged out in the same way.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
Quote:
Unless there was a play on her and she was clearly intending to run straight through first base, you've got to protect her between 1st and 2nd.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
This would be the same at 2nd or 3rd.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rules support? | fullor30 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Dec 06, 2010 06:40pm |
NFHS 10-1-5 a & b situations | sixer | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:25am |
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) | KWH | Football | 27 | Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am |
special situations - fiba rules-help!! | ohad_d | Basketball | 11 | Wed Jan 15, 2003 01:33pm |
UIL Rules - Jr. NBA - situations | ace | Basketball | 24 | Tue Dec 17, 2002 02:42am |