![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
As soon as F4 touched the base while in possession of the ball, the out occurs. This does bring up the issue of a train wreck, vs interference by a retired runner though :> |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Good luck trying to sell that though.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Question I have is, if the ball popped out of the glove as the base was being tagged, did F3 really have control of the ball? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
To me, you must maintain control after the tag of the base or the runner. I don't read anything different in the definition of Tag between tagging the base or tagging the runner.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And I would agree with you, if you did call the out on this play you will have an offensive coach headed for the parking lot. But, as I said this was presented at the ASA national school by one of the members of the national staff. As I recall their statement was the requirements for the physical tag of a runner and the tag of a base were not the same. For purposes of tagging the base as long as the fielder had demonstrated control prior to tagging the base, the out occured the instant the glove touched the base and the ball was lost after the out occured. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the fielder dives at the base with the ball in her bare hand, and when she contacts the base the ball immediately pops out of her grasp, I can't see how anyone would still rule an out. To me, she lost control the moment the ball contacted the bag; how can that be considered a legal tag?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 8, Section 2B (Batter-Runner is Out) We have received several questions dealing with how long a fielder has to hold on to the ball on a force out if they tag a base or to retire the batter runner prior to reaching 1B. The ASA rules say that as long as the fielder has control of the ball and once they touch the base with the ball or any part of the body, the runner or batter-runner should be ruled out. The umpire must judge if the fielder had control of the ball when the base was correctly touched to have an out call. Play:: B2 slaps the pitch toward the right side of the infield and F3 fields the ball with their bare hand and dives for 1B. In the base umpire’s opinion, F3 has control of the ball and is holding the ball securely while diving on 1B and touching it with the ball. As soon as F3 touches 1B with the ball, the ball rolls loose into foul ground. RulingThis is a judgment call by the umpire in regards to F3 having control of the ball when touching 1B. The runner should be ruled out if the umpire judged the fielder had possession of the ball at the time of touching the base, regardless of the ball coming loose after touching the base. The issue is control for that split second that the ball touches the base. If control is established when the fielder touches the base B2 would be out. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The ruling was the same as youi were told at the national school. Yes, it is a hard sell. I was't sure of ASA's take on it, but (if I can believe waht you say , ASA agrees.....
|
|
|||
|
It would be interesting to have more details. If the umpire judged that the fielder had control and tagged the bag and then lost control and called safe, then that seems like a losing protest. On the other hand if the umpire judged that there was no control then what's to protest.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Collision in the Key | iref4him | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:39pm |
| Collision at plate - ASA | ToledoCYOBlue | Softball | 6 | Mon Jun 27, 2005 12:58pm |
| F2/R1 collision or is it obs? | chas | Softball | 4 | Thu Mar 24, 2005 09:08am |
| Collision and base tagging | Roman Konecny | Baseball | 8 | Tue Nov 16, 2004 04:17pm |
| Collision at first | SF | Softball | 2 | Sun Oct 03, 2004 07:55pm |