The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 04, 2014, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Would you rule INT if F1 were backing up the play, and the ODB gets hit, preventing F1 from fielding the throw and possibly making a play on R2?
My point is that the NFHS wording does not say intentional or any exception for directing traffic.
Permission to leave the ODC is not the same as permission to impede.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,387
Can you reference the NFHS wording you're referring to?

Thanx.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by tru_in_blu View Post
can you reference the nfhs wording you're referring to?
Thanx.
8-6-16
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,387
Thanx. I'd have a hard time ruling INT when the ball simply hits the ODB. I'd view it as similar to an overthrow hitting a coach in the coach's box. If coach (or ODB) did nothing after getting hit with the ball, I think I'd have nothing.

They didn't even include Art. 16 in the casebook in 2014 or 2012.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 03:18pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
My point is that the NFHS wording does not say intentional or any exception for directing traffic.
Permission to leave the ODC is not the same as permission to impede.
I think you really need to go back to the basic definition of interference, specifically to the reference of the word "act". The ODB is allowed to leave the circle to direct runners, and if she just happens to get hit with a thrown ball that gets by the catcher, there is no "act" that she did to cause any interference. No different than when a base coach is out of the coach's box while directing runners, and he/she gets hit with a throw.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overthrow during a walk chuck chopper Softball 6 Thu May 16, 2013 04:14pm
overthrow Bill Magley Softball 28 Fri Oct 24, 2008 07:27am
Overthrow SRW Softball 7 Mon Jul 04, 2005 08:36am
Overthrow Inquiry bwbuddy Softball 2 Wed Jun 08, 2005 09:43am
ASA 10U Overthrow sprivitor Softball 7 Sun May 25, 2003 11:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1