![]() |
|
|
|||
I'm not an official or a scorekeeper, but wouldn't an obstruction be treated the same as an error and therefore counted as at bat? The official who called obstruction determined the B/R would have reached first if not for obs, right?
|
|
|||
Not necessarily. This is simply a base award by rule.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Do you mind giving me an example? I was picturing the catcher somehow physically preventing/slowing down the B/R, which resulted in the obs call.
|
|
|||
Quote:
batter from striking at or hitting a pitched ball. If the batter reaches First Base safely and all runners advance at least one base the obstruction is cancelled. All action as a result of the batted ball stands. No option is given. Once a runner has passed a base the runner is considered to have reached that base. If all runners, including the batter runner do not advance at least one base, the manager has the option of taking the result of the play, or enforcing obstruction by awarding the batter First Base and advancing all runners if forced. -- ASA Umpire Manual
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Regular obstruction would be treated like a hit (both a H and an AB). Catcher's obstruction in baseball is a plate appearance but not an at bat. ASA's book seems to forget it's existence in the scoring section.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Additionally, the catcher is charged with an error. I am thinking of a tipped bat by the catcher.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Scorekeeping Question | bob jenkins | Volleyball | 11 | Mon Sep 07, 2009 06:41am |
scorekeeping.... | chris s | Softball | 0 | Sun Jun 15, 2003 12:03am |
Scorekeeping snafu | theboys | Basketball | 15 | Tue Mar 04, 2003 10:00pm |
Scorekeeping | whiskers_ump | Softball | 4 | Wed Jul 18, 2001 12:26am |
Scorekeeping | oppool | Softball | 15 | Thu May 10, 2001 08:10pm |