The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Scorekeeping Question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97126-scorekeeping-question.html)

Tru_in_Blu Mon Jan 27, 2014 06:58pm

Scorekeeping Question
 
Couldn't find a better place for this question.

I know many of you don't care about scorekeeping, if a batted ball was a hit or an error. So stay asleep.

B. Each player’s batting and fielding record must be tabulated.
1. The first column will show the number of times at bat by each player,
but a time at bat will not be charged against the player when:
a. The player hits a sacrifice fly that scores a runner.
b. The player is awarded a base on balls.
c. (Fast Pitch) The player hits a sacrifice bunt.
d. (Fast Pitch) The player is hit by a pitched ball.
e. (Fast Pitch) The player hits a sacrifice slap hit.
NOTE: A slap hit is defined as a fake bunt followed by a controlled
swing and resulting in the runner(s) advancing, as in the case of
a sacrifice bunt.
f. The third out occurs and the batter is not entitled to run to first
base
EXCEPTION: Third strike foul rule in slow pitch.

If a batter reaches via catcher's obs, wouldn't that also not be counted as a time at bat?

Crabby_Bob Tue Jan 28, 2014 04:09am

It doesn't count as an AB.

Welpe Tue Jan 28, 2014 09:17am

Moved this to its own thread. No need to resurrect a 3.5 year old thread to ask a new question.

Manny A Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 920132)
Moved this to its own thread. No need to resurrect a 3.5 year old thread to ask a new question.

Agree. I started reading the old stuff anticipating that the new post was some sort of follow-up to the original thread. Thank goodness there wasn't multiple pages of posts to read!

SamG Wed Jan 29, 2014 04:53pm

I'm not an official or a scorekeeper, but wouldn't an obstruction be treated the same as an error and therefore counted as at bat? The official who called obstruction determined the B/R would have reached first if not for obs, right?

Dakota Wed Jan 29, 2014 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamG (Post 920374)
... The official who called obstruction determined the B/R would have reached first if not for obs, right?

Not necessarily. This is simply a base award by rule.

MD Longhorn Wed Jan 29, 2014 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamG (Post 920374)
I'm not an official or a scorekeeper, but wouldn't an obstruction be treated the same as an error and therefore counted as at bat? The official who called obstruction determined the B/R would have reached first if not for obs, right?

Regular obstruction would be treated like a hit (both a H and an AB). Catcher's obstruction in baseball is a plate appearance but not an at bat. ASA's book seems to forget it's existence in the scoring section.

SamG Wed Jan 29, 2014 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 920376)
Not necessarily. This is simply a base award by rule.

Do you mind giving me an example? I was picturing the catcher somehow physically preventing/slowing down the B/R, which resulted in the obs call.

Dakota Wed Jan 29, 2014 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamG (Post 920404)
Do you mind giving me an example? I was picturing the catcher somehow physically preventing/slowing down the B/R, which resulted in the obs call.

Catcher’s obstruction is the act of a catcher that hinders or prevents the
batter from striking at or hitting a pitched ball. If the batter reaches First
Base safely and all runners advance at least one base the obstruction is
cancelled. All action as a result of the batted ball stands. No option is given.
Once a runner has passed a base the runner is considered to have reached
that base. If all runners, including the batter runner do not advance at least
one base, the manager has the option of taking the result of the play, or
enforcing obstruction by awarding the batter First Base and advancing all
runners if forced
. -- ASA Umpire Manual

SamG Thu Jan 30, 2014 06:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 920423)
Catcher’s obstruction is the act of a catcher that hinders or prevents the
batter from striking at or hitting a pitched ball. If the batter reaches First
Base safely and all runners advance at least one base the obstruction is
cancelled. All action as a result of the batted ball stands. No option is given.
Once a runner has passed a base the runner is considered to have reached
that base. If all runners, including the batter runner do not advance at least
one base, the manager has the option of taking the result of the play, or
enforcing obstruction by awarding the batter First Base and advancing all
runners if forced
. -- ASA Umpire Manual

Ah. Thank you. For some reason, my mind jumped to a point AFTER the batter hit the ball.

Jake26 Thu Jan 30, 2014 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 920389)
Catcher's obstruction in baseball is a plate appearance but not an at bat.

Additionally, the catcher is charged with an error. I am thinking of a tipped bat by the catcher.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1