![]() |
|
|
|||
The scorekeeper apparently inadvertently awarded a FT to a player on a missed attempt.
http://www.accessatlanta.com/ajc/spo...04protest.html
__________________
If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to be a horrible warning. - Catherine Aird |
|
|||
there is the provision to correct any bookeeping errors any time before the referee accepts the final score. If I am the referee, I darn sure want to make sure we have grounds to "correct" the bookeeping mistake...ie make sure the other two books agree, or if we are positive then change it, but it would be easier if the other two books agree....dicey situation....There is a reference to comparing books in 2-11-11...the "correctable error" situation caused as much problem as the bookeeping....
|
|
|||
A lot of coaches have assistants who's job it is to track team statistics and keep a book. (BTW there have been times when I trusted the "unofficial" book on the bench more than I trusted the book at the table.) I'm not sure I understand how this particular coach did not have someone he trusts keeping a book for him, especially in such a big game. Also, I can never remember a time, ever, when there was a scoreboard error and at least 1 fan didn't start yelling "Fix the score! Fix the score!" (BTW I had game this year where a mom walked up to the table & started screaming at the scorekeepers because she thought the score was wrong. Of course the score was right and she got her admission ticket invalidated by security.) Anyway seems kinda weird that no one caught the screw up as it occurred, seems even weirder that both books had the missed FT good. I guess the kid who had the unofficial book learned something about copying from his neighbor's paper!
![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
There were a coupla factual mistakes,as usual,in the article.That's simply because it's author and the people supplying him information don't know the rules.There's no mention of the fact that the referee can change the score at any time until the end of his jurisdiction,as long as s/he has specific knowledge of a scoring mistake.The article also noted another instance where a warranted FT was missed.They said that this wasn't a 'correctible error".It WAS a correctible error,but it was caught too late to be legally corrected.
|
|
|||
What's that you were saying about reflexes again?
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Not that this is justification, but another thing to consider is why the official scorer missed the FT. The official scorer was blocked by a coach or sub. Depending on the gym, I have seen this several times where a sub or coach will stand directly in front of the table and sometimes a basket will get scored or missed, but it is usually caught. Another interesting thing about the article is that the official scorer was a student, which leads me to infer that there were only 2 books: one official (probably home or high seed) and the other book. The oddest thing is why someone did not see two points go up on the board when it happened and bring it up then as a correctable error.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|