The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Batter Interference

NFHS, batter interference with runner from third trying to score on passed ball. Batter out, runner out, or both?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 749
To be clear in this scenario, the batter (Team A) interferes with R1 (also Team A) coming home from 3B?

If so, at this point, I have nothing (and we're probably going to get an easy tag out).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,671
In most cases involving interference by an active player, the player who interferes is the one that is declared out. Runners are sent back to the last base acheived at the time of the interference.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,331
Did batter interfere with one of the defenders or the runner? You say interference with the runner, you cant have interference with their own runner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 18, 2014, 05:00pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,333
I'm fairly certain he was talking about the batter interfering with a play on the runner attempting to score. I can't imagine he's asking about a batter hindering her own teammate.

Batter is out, runner returns. FED 7-4-4 and 8-5-3.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 18, 2014, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwbuddy View Post
NFHS, batter interference while runner from third trying to score on passed ball. Batter out, runner out, or both?
Pretty sure this is what he was saying...
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Sat Jan 18, 2014 at 11:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2014, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
To be clear in this scenario, the batter (Team A) interferes with R1 (also Team A) coming home from 3B?
Pretty sure a batter and runner have to be on the same team.

Quote:
If so, at this point, I have nothing (and we're probably going to get an easy tag out).
Since we have been told the was INT, I believe 7-4-4 would apply and the batter would be out. That would make it an immediate dead ball and the runner's return to last base
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2014, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Pretty sure a batter and runner have to be on the same team.
No wonder I've been getting yelled at so much!!

If, as another poster said, the batter interferes with the defense on the passed ball, we have an out and the runner returns to the base occupied at the time of the pitch.

I still have nothing if she interferes with her own teammate.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 21, 2014, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
I still have nothing if she interferes with her own teammate.
One thing to think of, that others have said already is be VERY careful with your wording. As some have pointed out already you are using interference incorrectly. By definition (see below) you can not have interference by a batter with their own runner. INT is something that the offense does to the defense. One thing that helps umpires is to be very clear in the terms they use, both here on the forum and during games. When we read, or a coach that knows the rules hears interference out of an umpires mouth they expect someone on the offense to be called out. And once you say that on a field you have a lot of extra explaining to do (LUCY>>>sorry) if you dont' call someone out! So using rule book terminology as much as possible without totally quoting the entire book will help keep you out of trouble, or at least reduce the extra trouble that comes with misleading answers! JMO!

2-32-1 NFHS Rules
ART. 1 . . .Interference is an act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who illegally impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder; or when a runner creates malicious contact with any fielder with or without the ball, in or out of the baseline
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference bob jenkins Baseball 17 Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm
Batter Interference?? tibear Baseball 5 Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:10am
Batter Interference GerryB Baseball 8 Tue May 01, 2007 07:56pm
Batter Interference? WestMichBlue Softball 9 Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:11pm
Batter Interference? MichaelVA2000 Baseball 2 Mon Jul 28, 2003 07:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1