View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 21, 2014, 10:59am
DaveASA/FED DaveASA/FED is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
I still have nothing if she interferes with her own teammate.
One thing to think of, that others have said already is be VERY careful with your wording. As some have pointed out already you are using interference incorrectly. By definition (see below) you can not have interference by a batter with their own runner. INT is something that the offense does to the defense. One thing that helps umpires is to be very clear in the terms they use, both here on the forum and during games. When we read, or a coach that knows the rules hears interference out of an umpires mouth they expect someone on the offense to be called out. And once you say that on a field you have a lot of extra explaining to do (LUCY>>>sorry) if you dont' call someone out! So using rule book terminology as much as possible without totally quoting the entire book will help keep you out of trouble, or at least reduce the extra trouble that comes with misleading answers! JMO!

2-32-1 NFHS Rules
ART. 1 . . .Interference is an act (physical or verbal) by a member of the team at bat who illegally impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder; or when a runner creates malicious contact with any fielder with or without the ball, in or out of the baseline
Reply With Quote