The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 77
Batter Interference

NCAA rules, 1 out, R1, R3. Catcher tries to throw out R1 stealing and is interfered with by the batter. F6 cuts off errant throw and throws home to get R3 trying to score. R1 advances to second on the play at the plate. Where does R1 go?

Last edited by GerryB; Tue May 01, 2007 at 09:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryB
NCAA rules, 1 out, R1, R3. Catcher tries to throw out R1 stealing and is interfered with by the batter. F6 cuts off errant throw and throws home to get R3 trying to score. R1 advances to second on the play at the plate. Where does R1 go?
Batter is out (if less than 2 strikes and the interference was on a swing), R1 and R3 return to the base occupied at TOP. If interference was after strike three, batter is out, and so is R3.....switch 'em up.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

GerryB,

Assuming the batter had not struck out on the pitch, the R1 goes back to 1B. R3 goes back to 3B, and the Batter goes back to the dugout, because he is out on the BI.

If the batter had struck out on the pitch, he still goes to the dugout, the R1 does too because he is out on his teammate's interference, and the R3 returns to 3B.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 77
OK, but NCAA 7-11 f) - 2,
Quote:
The batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out,
or if the runner trying to score is called out for batterís interference.
So R1 stays on second, right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

GerryB,

I certainly don't call NCAA games, so I'm not a very good "source" for your question.

However, by my read, the rulings I suggested above would still apply to your situation because the Batter interfered with the Catcher's attempted play at 2B, not home. As soon as his immediate throw did not retire the R1 attempting to steal 2B, the ball is dead. That would be at the point in time the F6 caught the catcher's throw.

Batter is out, R1 & R3 return to TOP base. If batter had struck out on the pitch, R1 is out on his teammate's interference, and the R3 is returned to 3B.

If any of the NCAA knowledgeable posters say something different in regard to your sitch, I would suggest believing them rather than me.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:30pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
CoachJM...I also agree with your posting...but I, like you do not work NCAA...but rather Junior College...but this situation would also apply to FED and OBR...I think...don't have the rules w/ me today to cite...but I'm pretty sure all three align with this rule. And, like CoachJM...I will wait for some NCAA guys to post on here...(I'll come back when I grow up)! LOL!
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryB
OK, but NCAA 7-11 f) - 2,

The batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out,
or if the runner trying to score is called out for batterís interference.


So R1 stays on second, right?
No, your quote is an exception that applies only to that runner that is trying to score. The penalty for (f) "all runners return" is the what applies to ALL runners, EXCEPT those mentioned in 1-4.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 77
OK (again), but the cutoff by F6 had been planned to get R3 anyway. The exception refers to any runner, not just the one being played on. This play falls under exceptions.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryB
OK (again), but the cutoff by F6 had been planned to get R3 anyway. The exception refers to any runner, not just the one being played on. This play falls under exceptions.
Doesn't matter. IF the first throw doesn't retire a runner, then kill the play and enforce the interference -- batter out, other runners return to TOP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Interference? bigsig Softball 42 Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:48pm
Batter Interference HardtailStrat Softball 7 Thu Jul 07, 2005 02:41pm
Batter Interference - OBR Saltydog Baseball 5 Mon May 16, 2005 09:35am
Batter Interference? Spence Baseball 14 Mon May 02, 2005 11:28am
Interference on batter? DaveASA/FED Softball 3 Wed Jul 02, 2003 10:17am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1