The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 19, 2013, 06:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Sounds like a lot of people are really saying, "As long as the runner does 'what she is supposed to,' there isn't interference."

Should we apply this to R1 who runs in a straight line directly into F4 fielding a batted ball? Her "act" is running. Colliding with F4 isn't an "act" it is just a consequence of her "non-act" of running, according to the logic we hear.

So if F6 dives for a ball that just gets by her, is she immediately committing obstruction on R2 (assuming she was actually hindered) because she is no longer in the "act" of fielding a batted ball?

Seems to be a lot of contradiction and applying the "what's she supposed to do " philosophy, that so many argue against.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference by retired runner? Sco53 Baseball 4 Tue Apr 10, 2012 03:54pm
Batter Runner proceeds to second with R1 on first. Robert E. Harrison Baseball 44 Tue Mar 20, 2012 01:47am
Interference by retired runner charliej47 Baseball 16 Mon Jun 22, 2009 09:00am
Visual Interference on Base Runner whiskers_ump Softball 9 Fri Jun 17, 2005 03:05pm
interference by retired runner shipwreck Softball 15 Thu Sep 18, 2003 07:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1