![]() |
|
|
|||
I have never had to make it and have seen it called exactly twice. Once in club ball at the Louisville tournament in CO and once in a college game in Georgia.
|
|
|||
That is definitely a problem. NCAA rules don't award a ball when the catcher throws to 1st if the batter runs when not entitled to. 10.16 Exception 6
|
|
|||
Quote:
My comment was in regard to the call in general when the catcher throws the ball to anyone other than the pitcher. I have never had to make the call and have seen it made twice. Both times it was the correct call. |
|
|||
I, too, have seen it called once or twice. In both cases, the pitch was strike two with no runners on base. The catcher mistakenly thought it was strike 3 for a strike out and proceeded to throw the ball "around the horn".
This would be a proper application of the rule.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Right, all that's left to do is explain to the OC your reasoning for not calling it. Believe me, most college coaches are fully aware of this rule. Delaying the game is never mentioned in the NCAA book.
Last edited by topper; Tue Jun 04, 2013 at 12:55pm. Reason: DC to OC |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
On-deck batter and blocked Ball or live Ball? | rwest | Softball | 13 | Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:49pm |
Batter picking up the ball | chitownvet | Baseball | 20 | Sun Jun 28, 2009 08:57am |
Batter Hitting Ball while out of Box | tibear | Baseball | 3 | Mon May 26, 2008 11:23am |
Ball on the batter? | Rachel | Softball | 37 | Wed Aug 24, 2005 07:07am |
SP (ASA) Ball hitting batter..... | dsimp8 | Softball | 4 | Tue Sep 14, 2004 07:09pm |