The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA ball on batter (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95183-asa-ball-batter.html)

grounder Fri May 31, 2013 07:50pm

ASA ball on batter
 
a ball on the batter should be called when the catcher fails to return the ball directly to the pitcher as required.....no runners on base, the catcher accidently overthrows the pitcher when returning a pitched ball. the shortstop chases the errant throw and picks it up behind second base and returns it to the pitcher......do you call a ball on the batter for this?

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 31, 2013 08:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grounder (Post 896242)
a ball on the batter should be called when the catcher fails to return the ball directly to the pitcher as required.....no runners on base, the catcher accidently overthrows the pitcher when returning a pitched ball. the shortstop chases the errant throw and picks it up behind second base and returns it to the pitcher......do you call a ball on the batter for this?

No

grounder Fri May 31, 2013 08:11pm

thank you

chapmaja Sat Jun 01, 2013 09:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grounder (Post 896242)
a ball on the batter should be called when the catcher fails to return the ball directly to the pitcher as required.....no runners on base, the catcher accidently overthrows the pitcher when returning a pitched ball. the shortstop chases the errant throw and picks it up behind second base and returns it to the pitcher......do you call a ball on the batter for this?

Not a NCAA ump, but there is no way I would call this, unless I was 100% sure it was intentionally being done.

If it is simply an overthrow, I have nothing. If I know a team is warming up a new pitcher, and all of the sudden the ball is thrown on the fly to the CF, then something is amiss. If it happens more than once, something's amiss.

Andy Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:21am

A variation on this question that came up this weekend.

No runners, 3-1 count on the batter, pitch is swung at and missed, F2 does not catch the ball, batter takes off for first (thinking U3K), F2 retrieves ball and throws to first.

BU kills the play and awards Ball 4 to the batter for F2 failing to return the ball directly to the pitcher. His reasoning was that there was no play at first, so the ball shouldn't have been thrown there.

My thought is that there is no way that I am rewarding that batter that ran when she shouldn't have.

Thoughts?

CecilOne Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 896456)
A variation on this question that came up this weekend.

No runners, 3-1 count on the batter, pitch is swung at and missed, F2 does not catch the ball, batter takes off for first (thinking U3K), F2 retrieves ball and throws to first.

BU kills the play and awards Ball 4 to the batter for F2 failing to return the ball directly to the pitcher. His reasoning was that there was no play at first, so the ball shouldn't have been thrown there.

My thought is that there is no way that I am rewarding that batter that ran when she shouldn't have.

Thoughts?

Possibly technically correct, mistakes not being one of the listed exceptions; but certainly not in the intent. :eek:

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 896456)
A variation on this question that came up this weekend.

No runners, 3-1 count on the batter, pitch is swung at and missed, F2 does not catch the ball, batter takes off for first (thinking U3K), F2 retrieves ball and throws to first.

BU kills the play and awards Ball 4 to the batter for F2 failing to return the ball directly to the pitcher. His reasoning was that there was no play at first, so the ball shouldn't have been thrown there.

My thought is that there is no way that I am rewarding that batter that ran when she shouldn't have.

Thoughts?

The BU is an idiot. PU not far behind for allowing it to occur. Hey, you asked for my thoughts and that is the first thing that came to mind.

jwwashburn Mon Jun 03, 2013 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 896466)
The BU is an idiot. PU not far behind for allowing it to occur. Hey, you asked for my thoughts and that is the first thing that came to mind.

You forgot to apologize to all idiots for sullying their reputation by being associated with this guy.

Manny A Tue Jun 04, 2013 05:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 896456)
A variation on this question that came up this weekend.

No runners, 3-1 count on the batter, pitch is swung at and missed, F2 does not catch the ball, batter takes off for first (thinking U3K), F2 retrieves ball and throws to first.

BU kills the play and awards Ball 4 to the batter for F2 failing to return the ball directly to the pitcher. His reasoning was that there was no play at first, so the ball shouldn't have been thrown there.

My thought is that there is no way that I am rewarding that batter that ran when she shouldn't have.

Thoughts?

OOO.

Maybe he should've given the batter a warning for not keeping one foot in the batter's box, too, huh?

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 04, 2013 08:26am

The next time I make this call will be the first.

RKBUmp Tue Jun 04, 2013 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 896560)
The next time I make this call will be the first.

I have never had to make it and have seen it called exactly twice. Once in club ball at the Louisville tournament in CO and once in a college game in Georgia.

topper Tue Jun 04, 2013 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 896561)
I have never had to make it and have seen it called exactly twice. Once in club ball at the Louisville tournament in CO and once in a college game in Georgia.

That is definitely a problem. NCAA rules don't award a ball when the catcher throws to 1st if the batter runs when not entitled to. 10.16 Exception 6

RKBUmp Tue Jun 04, 2013 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 896564)
That is definitely a problem. NCAA rules don't award a ball when the catcher throws to 1st if the batter runs when not entitled to. 10.16 Exception 6

The original post was in regard to an overthrow of the pitcher into center field. Later a comment was brought up about a ball that was awarded when a runner mistakenly ran to 1st.

My comment was in regard to the call in general when the catcher throws the ball to anyone other than the pitcher. I have never had to make the call and have seen it made twice. Both times it was the correct call.

Andy Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:53am

I, too, have seen it called once or twice. In both cases, the pitch was strike two with no runners on base. The catcher mistakenly thought it was strike 3 for a strike out and proceeded to throw the ball "around the horn".

This would be a proper application of the rule.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 04, 2013 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy (Post 896584)
I, too, have seen it called once or twice. In both cases, the pitch was strike two with no runners on base. The catcher mistakenly thought it was strike 3 for a strike out and proceeded to throw the ball "around the horn".

This would be a proper application of the rule.

Umpires need to use some common sense here. Unless you are dealing with a Rube Baker, I'm not making that call unless it delays the game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1