|
|||
Dead ball strike- ASA
I'm confused.
2 strikes on batter. Pitch is inside the batters box, batter swings, hits her in the hands. Ball goes foul. I ruled foul ball. No one said anything. I can't seem to find anything that contradicts my ruling of foul ball, so I figured I'd let you umps correct me ,if needed.
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate |
|
|||
ASA rules do note that "the hands are NOT part of the bat".
It's not possible to have a legally batted ball unless the ball was put into play with the bat (not the batter's hand). You can't have a foul (or, for that matter, fair) ball when the ball was not legally batted. Anytime a pitched ball touches a batter, it is an immediate dead ball. Anytime the batter attempts to strike a pitch with the bat, but fails to put it into play, it is a strike. Put 'em all together...what do you get? |
|
|||
The name of the topic.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Or, looked at another way... what is a foul ball (by definition) ... and did you have that?
Dead ball strike, strike three, batter's out. What strikes me as odd is that you got it wrong on the field, but came here and got it right in the title of your thread.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
My spider sense went off when I called it a foul ball, I knew something wasn't quite right. My thinking was I called it a dead ball strike, albeit a foul ball. Bottom line I knew something wasn't quite right, now I know what, and have been educated. It won't happen again.
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
correctable error ...... even though you ruled it foul, declare it a dead ball strike batter is out, if you need clarification ask your partner on the bases.
since it was a dead ball either way, any runners moving on the pitch (if any) would have to return anyway, the ball is dead and nothing can happen. Of course you WILL have to explain it to the coach. and yes, he/she most likely will not agree. |
|
|||
He did say ... "batter swings".
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Didn't we just confirm that we can not "un foul" a called foul?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. Last edited by CecilOne; Thu May 30, 2013 at 04:03pm. |
|
|||
No -- you just can't make a foul ball live or fair.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
It is the same as in any stick and ball sport........
Joel
__________________
Never argue with idiots...they drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience. |
|
|||
Not only that, but since this is an ASA thread, just what is the definition of "swing"?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Yes. I read that. But it wouldn't be the first time that a term was used without fully regard to its definition.
I asked the question because I have had batters hit by the pitch during the swing, but who had not committed to the swing. Since the ball is dead at the time of contact, any follow through or subsequent action with the bat is not relevant. That's the only reason I was inquiring.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you had said you had batters hit by the pitch while checking their swing, that would be more accurate. Separate but related to this subject, what do y'all call when the batter and the bat get hit by the ball virtually simultaneously? In other words, you hear the ball make contact with the bat, but you also see the batter react because the ball also hit her hand? If the batter doesn't swing at the pitch, I usually give her the benefit of the doubt and send her to first base, judging that the ball hit her hand first. But if she does swing, what do you do? Do you assume the ball hit the bat first, and rule foul? Or do you call the dead ball strike?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Dead ball strike-out vs hit batsman | UMP 64 | Baseball | 15 | Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:58am |
Swinging 3rd Strike Dead Ball | njdevs00cup | Baseball | 4 | Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:53pm |
dead ball strike | CecilOne | Softball | 10 | Tue Jul 15, 2008 08:25am |
Dropped 3rd Strike - Dead Ball? | Spence | Softball | 12 | Tue May 17, 2005 09:06am |
Dead ball strike question? | 3afan | Softball | 5 | Thu Sep 23, 2004 03:23pm |