The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 12:12pm
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chesterfield VA
Posts: 219
New Pitcher???

FED ruleset
Coach asked me this yesterday:"When is the new pitcher actually in the game?"

Allegedly...
Opposing coach approached Plate Umpire between innings to change pitchers. The "new" pitcher has thrown a single warm up pitch when the coach "changes his mind" and wants to return to the "prior" pitcher and not make the substitution at all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 12:33pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
FED ruleset
Coach asked me this yesterday:"When is the new pitcher actually in the game?"

Allegedly...
Opposing coach approached Plate Umpire between innings to change pitchers. The "new" pitcher has thrown a single warm up pitch when the coach "changes his mind" and wants to return to the "prior" pitcher and not make the substitution at all.
Too late.

The new pitcher is in the game when she's listed as such ... LONG before she gets out there to start warming up, and definitely before she actually throws a warmup.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
FED ruleset
Coach asked me this yesterday:"When is the new pitcher actually in the game?"

Allegedly...
Opposing coach approached Plate Umpire between innings to change pitchers. The "new" pitcher has thrown a single warm up pitch when the coach "changes his mind" and wants to return to the "prior" pitcher and not make the substitution at all.
I think you are saying an actual substitution, not a position change, in which case as Mike said, when reported.
Then, if the first pitcher was removed, it would be a re-entry.

If the first pitcher was just repositioned, then the second would have to either leave the game and be replaced by some other sub or re-entry or be repositioned.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 12:49pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,206
Well, as others have said, a substitution takes place when it's reported.

Problem is, sometimes it takes a while for the head coach to report the pitching change to the umpire, either in between innings, or when he/she goes directly to the circle during an inning and then goes to the umpire with the change. In those cases, I would argue that the guidance on unreported subs under 3-3-3b prevails, and the substitution happens when "a pitcher takes her place on the pitcher's plate."
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 01:08pm
wife loves the goatee...
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chesterfield VA
Posts: 219
coach's story was that umps allowed the coach to withdraw the substition as if it never happened.....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 01:33pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I think you are saying an actual substitution, not a position change, in which case as Mike said, when reported.
Then, if the first pitcher was removed, it would be a re-entry.

If the first pitcher was just repositioned, then the second would have to either leave the game and be replaced by some other sub or re-entry or be repositioned.
Correct me if I'm wrong, as I don't have the book here and could be mixing rulesets...

But if a pitcher comes in (whether repositioned or from the bench), they MUST pitch to the next batter - they cannot, as you intimate, leave the game and be replaced by some other sub or re-entry until after pitching to 1 batter.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 01:34pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRJ1960 View Post
coach's story was that umps allowed the coach to withdraw the substition as if it never happened.....
There could easily be more to this story.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 01:48pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, as I don't have the book here and could be mixing rulesets...

But if a pitcher comes in (whether repositioned or from the bench), they MUST pitch to the next batter - they cannot, as you intimate, leave the game and be replaced by some other sub or re-entry until after pitching to 1 batter.
In FED, I don't believe there is a requirement for a pitcher to pitch to one batter. One of the plays in the casebook has a coach requesting to change his starting pitcher right after the plate conference. The book says that is legal, and the reported starting pitcher on the lineup card has one re-entry available.

In NCAA, rule 8.5.2.1 states, "The pitcher may be removed from the pitching position before having delivered a pitch, whether or not the first batter facing her has completed her turn at bat and whether or not the side has been retired." So there is no requirement there either.

I can't answer for ASA, since I don't have the rulebook handy.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 01:53pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I retract my severe wrongativity.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, as I don't have the book here and could be mixing rulesets...

But if a pitcher comes in (whether repositioned or from the bench), they MUST pitch to the next batter - they cannot, as you intimate, leave the game and be replaced by some other sub or re-entry until after pitching to 1 batter.
The only time I know of a requirement to face a batter is if the pitcher of record in the top of the first inning had a courtesy runner that ran for them then they are required to face the first batter (interp as throw one pitch). That is in 8-9 (don't have book with me) in NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 03:27pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I think I had baseball on the brain... which is rare considering I work about 95% softball.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,276
FED changed the rule I believe it was this year on when a substitute becomes official.

3-3-e ....when the ball is declared live by the plate umpire.

So, under the original post the coach can change his mind prior to the umpire declaring the ball live and it would not count as a substitution.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 05:04pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 515
RKB is correct for Fed Rule set. This is not a change, but a difference from ASA rule set. Would be a good change for Fed to look at.

Last edited by Ed Maeder; Fri May 03, 2013 at 05:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dacula, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
FED changed the rule I believe it was this year on when a substitute becomes official.

3-3-e ....when the ball is declared live by the plate umpire.

So, under the original post the coach can change his mind prior to the umpire declaring the ball live and it would not count as a substitution.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
RKB is correct for Fed Rule set. This is not a change, but a difference from ASA rule set. Would be a good change for Fed to look at.
Re-read that rule, 3-3-e. It applies (ONLY) when substitutions are unannounced, not when announced.

If the plate umpire has reported a change to the opposing head coach (as specified now), the substitution is official, and, assuming a substitution, not simply a defensive change, the returning pitcher is now a re-entry.

Not different than ASA (other than a warning then restriction under 3-6-7) with respect to when official.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 03, 2013, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,276
I would agree that is the way it reads, but is not the way it was presented at the preseason rules meetings. We were instructed that until the ball is declared live substitutions are not official.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitcher benbret Softball 8 Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:19am
DH and pitcher both bat JJ Baseball 3 Tue Aug 03, 2004 07:27am
DH for a non-pitcher akalsey Baseball 17 Sat Jun 12, 2004 10:43am
Need Help..New Pitcher brentm Baseball 0 Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:28am
Pitcher Can Larry Softball 3 Wed Jun 19, 2002 11:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1