The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2012, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 113
Pitcher

NFHS Girls FastPitch. Does the girl that is listed as the pitcher on the line-up card to start the game have to throw at least one pitch in the bottom of the first inning (unless she is injured). She batted in the top of the first inning and had a courtesy runner.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2012, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret View Post
NFHS Girls FastPitch. Does the girl that is listed as the pitcher on the line-up card to start the game have to throw at least one pitch in the bottom of the first inning (unless she is injured). She batted in the top of the first inning and had a courtesy runner.
Yes.
Unless injured or DQ, in which case the CR retroactively becomes a sub for the pitcher. Same rule for the catcher.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2012, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Can anyone confirm if this rule is in effect if a CR is NOT used?

I believe that it is not, due to the fact that the rule is listed as part of the Courtesy Runner rule.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2012, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 953
Since that requirement is only listed in the Courtesy runner section I would assume (we all know what that does) it only applys when there has been a courtesy runner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2012, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret View Post
NFHS Girls FastPitch. Does the girl that is listed as the pitcher on the line-up card to start the game have to throw at least one pitch in the bottom of the first inning (unless she is injured). She batted in the top of the first inning and had a courtesy runner.
If she's courtesy run for, there is a new rule for this year, that if the pitcher becomes injured, then the courtesy runner becomes a sub retroactively.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2012, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16
courtesy runner for let's say pitcher.

Ok, pitcher gets to base safely in top of 1st inning, courtesy runner is utilized.

2 part question.
Pitcher is injured temporarily and cannot continue in bottom of first inning. I understand as per new rule the courtesy runner used for her now become a sub.
Can the player originally listed as the starting pitcher re-enter the game at a future time in the position of pitcher?
Question # 2.
If pitcher is just plain old taken out of the game in the bottom of the 1st and does not pitch to at least 1 batter what penalty is assessed?:
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2012, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire george View Post
Ok, pitcher gets to base safely in top of 1st inning, courtesy runner is utilized.

2 part question.
Pitcher is injured temporarily and cannot continue in bottom of first inning. I understand as per new rule the courtesy runner used for her now become a sub.
Can the player originally listed as the starting pitcher re-enter the game at a future time in the position of pitcher?
Question # 2.
If pitcher is just plain old taken out of the game in the bottom of the 1st and does not pitch to at least 1 batter what penalty is assessed?:
The player who pitches is an illegal player.
Although that term is not defined in the NFHS book, it is referred to:
See 3-4-1, 3-4-3 & PENALTY: (Art.3).

Also remember that the player the ball must become live for you to have an illegal player (see previous discussion regarding allowing illegal substitutions)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 14, 2012, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
NFHS 8.9.2
Quote:
ART. 2 . . . In the top of the first inning only, the pitcher and catcher are identified as those players listed on the lineup as the pitcher and catcher; both must face at least the first batter on defense (one pitch). Thereafter, the pitcher and catcher are identified as the last players who physically played that position on defense. The pitcher or catcher must bat and reach base legally (or earn their way on base) in order to be eligible for a courtesy runner.

EXCEPTION: When an injury or disqualification occurs in the top of the first inning to the pitcher/catcher identified on the lineup card and she is unable to face the first batter in the bottom of the first inning, the player who ran for her is retroactively her substitute, no longer a courtesy runner. All substitution rules apply and the pitcher/catcher has left the game.

From the case book:
Quote:

8.9.2 SITUATION B

In the top of the first inning, the visiting team is at bat and lists the pitcher, B. Smith, batting first and the catcher, L. Jones, batting second. The center fielder, M. Shaw, is batting eighth and the right fielder, D. Adams, is batting ninth. Both B. Smith and L. Jones (the pitcher and catcher of record) get hits and courtesy runners properly report and run for each player. In the bottom half of the first inning, M. Shaw goes to the pitching position and D. Adams occupies the catcher's position; B. Smith and L. Jones take center and right field, respectively. The ball becomes live.

RULING: Illegal substitution. After the ball becomes live and M. Shaw and D. Adams take the positions of pitcher and catcher (not the pitcher and catcher of record on the official lineup card), they become illegal defensive players and are restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game. (8-9-2 Penalty; 3-4-1b Penalty)
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2012, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire george View Post
Ok, pitcher gets to base safely in top of 1st inning, courtesy runner is utilized.

2 part question.
Pitcher is injured temporarily and cannot continue in bottom of first inning. I understand as per new rule the courtesy runner used for her now become a sub.
Can the player originally listed as the starting pitcher re-enter the game at a future time in the position of pitcher?
Question # 2.
If pitcher is just plain old taken out of the game in the bottom of the 1st and does not pitch to at least 1 batter what penalty is assessed?:
Part 1 is yes.
Part 2 answered above.
Andy and Dave are correct.

I believe illness would be treated the same as injury, but not in writing anywhere I've seen.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH and pitcher both bat JJ Baseball 3 Tue Aug 03, 2004 07:27am
DH for a non-pitcher akalsey Baseball 17 Sat Jun 12, 2004 10:43am
Need Help..New Pitcher brentm Baseball 0 Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:28am
Pitcher Big Man Baseball 6 Tue May 20, 2003 03:32pm
Pitcher Can Larry Softball 3 Wed Jun 19, 2002 11:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1